Oh What A Change


I was speaking with my Father in Law over Thanksgiving and we got to talking about my Operation: Moderate Technology.   He made one point that really stuck out to me, what kind of technology will our children have in 5 years or even 10 years.

I remember learning how to type on a keyboard, use a mouse, and a computer in Junior High.  Now if you don’t know how to use a computer by elementary school you are well behind the times.  Hot Mama told me that one of her teacher friends have said that computer teachers are having to teach student how to use a mouse again since everything is going to the touch screen route.  That just boggles my mind, I can’t even imagine using a touch screen to type out my blog or an email.  There are plenty of people who do that with an iPad, but I have a hard enough time getting a tweet or email typed up on my iPhone.

© The Rookie Dad

 

I remember getting my first cell, at that time the flip phones were the latest and greatest.  Smart phones were just coming into fruition.  Now you can surf the web and be making a phone call all on the same device.   The Internet when I was in junior high and high school had not become a major player in everyone’s lives.  Now it is every where, TVs, DVD players, phones, refrigerators, and now our cars.

This only makes me wonder what our kids will grow up with.  Will they look back at how Internet driven this society is and laugh because of the newest form of “cyberspace?”

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

