What Happened to Thanksgiving?


Thanksgiving, the holiday in which we celebrate the pilgrims coming to America! Thanks Hot Mama for setting me straight that, in a moment of stupidity, the pilgrims landed in the Massachusetts and not the Caribbean.  Give me a break we just had Columbus Day, so I was thinking about him.  It is a holiday in which food is king and spending time with family is queen.  Also a holiday that is now getting blurred by Black Friday and Christmas.

I will admit the deals on Black Friday are great.  Even I have been accused of going to Hell-Mart on Black Friday, but not to get any of the deals that everyone was waiting in line for.   I remember waking up early and getting to the stores an hour after they opened so we beat the initial rush to the best deals.  Now, if I wanted to get to the stores an hour after they opened it would be 1am in the morning. Target and Best Buy are opening up at midnight (and I’m sure I’m forgetting one that is opening at 6pm on Thanksgiving) Meaning, tons of people are waiting outside the stores since about noon on Thanksgiving.   Does anyone see anything wrong about this?  Thanksgiving is about family, it shouldn’t be spent in a line waiting to get $200 off of a store brand HDTV that will only last a couple years.   I’m sure we will hear the one story about a whole family that spent their holiday in line and had a company cater their thanksgiving meal to them as they freeze their butts off in front of a Best Buy.  Add into the mix commercials like this…

Thanks Rebecca Black, you have done it again, I wish you and your family the best holiday season too.

I played my first Christmas movie the other day.  It wasn’t for me, but for the Kid and that was only because it was about Barney, so it really doesn’t count.  To me you can’t start thinking about Christmas, until after Thanksgiving dinner.  Do NOT turn your lights on at your house until that night.  Do NOT put a tree up until that night.  And for God’s sake do NOT turn on Christmas music until after dinner that night!  I won’t get started on the radio stations that play Christmas music for 24 hours a day 7 days a week starting 3 days before Halloween.   I will make an exception to this, if your on a budget and have to start shopping for presents before Thanksgiving to help spread out the cost.   I am ok with putting up holiday decorations on the house while it is nice out, but again do NOT turn them on until after Thanksgiving.

Maybe, I’m just becoming that old man who is yelling at kids to get off his lawn.  But Thanksgiving is now becoming completely forgotten and Black Friday is now the National Holiday.  Christmas might as well be in October now since stores are putting up their decorations in September!  Please bring back Thanksgiving!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I would rather have Black Friday instead of Boxing Day. At 11:30pm on Christmas Day I leave my house to start my 12 hour midnight to 12pm shift. Keep in mind I’ve also just worked until 7pm on Christmas Eve. What is this Christmas you speak of? I tend to sleep through it. Unfortunately it’s our own fault as greedy consumers who have made these sales successful. If no one showed up the companies wouldn’t have them.

  2. I’m starting a movement today…Occupy Thanksgiving!

  3. Oh, wow, I saw this commercial this morning for the first time and just about snorted my coffee through my nose. As I am home alone, my cries of distress would have been useless, and heard by no one. I’m with ya, I’m with ya…

  4. your loving wife

    Did you notice the part where she steals something out of another person’s cart? Now that’s the Christmas spirit…

  5. Sooo right! I’ve been hearing more and more stories about people camping outside these stores for great bargains starting at midnight and less and less stories about people enjoying Thanksgiving as a warm celebration with the family. It seems like some stores are buying even the essence of family reunions. Sad.

    We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in the Philippines and neither do we have Black Friday because well, we don’t have Thanksgiving, but I think the occasion/tradition is very important to you guys on the other side of the world that forgetting its real essence for some 75% off deals should not be quite right. You have to bring Thanksgiving back – you just have to.

  6. Just as a side note, the evil retailer I work for that thrives on your Christmas wishes is closed today. We will reopen happily on Friday morning, just one hour earlier then normal. I hope that customer’s are there to help keep my employees employeed a little longer. I am Thankful for that. I do agree that retailers should take a day off to let families enjoy their Thanksgiving day with their family and freinds. Black Friday though is the chance for a lot of retailers to go from red (negative) to black (positive) and survive another year.

  1. Pingback: 102 Reasons To Be Thankful | this man's journey

  2. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving day | The future belongs to those who prepare for it today

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

