I’ve Become My Dad


The other day when my lovely family unit was driving home from spending some time with family, I was perusing the radio stations on the AM side, and it hit me, I have become my dad!

I remember taking road trips and sitting in the front seat making sure that my dad took the right route.  Our road trips were mainly to Denver so I knew just about every road to take, it didn’t matter I still pulled out the atlas to make double check we didn’t get lost in the vast area that is basically the middle of no-where.   Looking around at the small towns in Eastern Colorado and thinking to myself, “the east side of Colorado is much worse then Western Kansas!”

If anyone has driven through Western Kansas and Eastern Colorado you know that good radio stations are few and far between.  So naturally, my dad would turn on the AM side of the radio and scan through them until he found a good talk radio station.  Listening to countless hours of static until Rush Limbaugh came on must have done there number on me or hearing a big fat man yammer into a gold microphone has pissed me off enough that I no longer have the same political views as my mom or dad, but I digress.

Fast forward to the other night, there I was driving and searching for something to listen to on the radio.  My latest thing is sports radio and I can’t get enough of it.  I wasn’t searching for anything in particular just something sports related.  There was a local college football game on which I cared about but not enough that if I couldn’t find it, it wouldn’t have been that big of a deal.

As I sat there with the radio on scan, listening to the constant static, it struck me right on the head and nearly knocked me out, this is exactly what my dad did!  I remember how annoyed I was listening to the static.  I surely must have been doing to the same to my family too!  But I didn’t care because I’m the dad!

The driver always decides what is on the radio, right?

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The driver always decides what to listen to, unless the wife asserts control.

    Sports radio is pretty awesome though. The years I lived in Long Beach I was addicted to Vin Scully. I bought MLB.tv this year just so I could listen to him announce games in what could have been his final year. It was a great way to bond with my dad, too.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

