Ode To Sleep


Sleep!

It was so nice we met again last night!
I almost forgot what it was like to hear from you.
Laying my head down on the pillow,
Pulling the covers to where I want them rather than where Hot Mama wants them,
Not hearing the hum of the baby monitor.
Oh wait, is that Conan on TV?
No, the TV isn’t on!
Drifting off into my dreams
Mila Kunas, you were in them, along with Winnie Cooper
Waking up realizing it was all a dream.
But is it a dream that I woke up and the Kid isn’t crying?
It might have only been a one night stand.
But surely, we will meet again right?

Sleep!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Every time I think I might be able to reconnect with sleep she is cruelly ripped away from me.

    Best of luck to you!

  2. you lucky dog! congratulations!

  3. Mila Kunis and Winnie Cooper? Really? Ouch.

  4. I get to hook up with sleep once in a while. It’s never all night long, but I’m happy with a 4 hour stretch.

  1. Pingback: Naptime FAIL « The Rookie Dad

  2. Pingback: Daddy Wake Up! « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

