It’s That Time Of Year


It seems like this time of year is the time that everyone starts getting sick.  Well our household was no different over this past week.

It first started Monday morning, the Kid woke up in the middle of the night screaming.  I go and take care of him giving him a bottle and noticing that his shirt was wet but not his pants.  I knew it wasn’t diaper deal so I then turn a light on and see that all of the green beans he had eaten at dinner were all over his crib.  I get him all taken care of hoping that it was just an isolated incident.  The Kid and myself woke up fine.  He was able to keep his first bottle down, in fact this was the first time he took his formula in a sippy cup.  He was ultra clingy and dad was very achy so for the morning we spent it just cuddling on the couch.   The first sign something is up!

Then when I take him to daycare my stomach starts giving me fits but I decide I’m going to fight through it at work since I am running low on PTO days.   I have the general aches and pains while I am at work which made me miserable, but again I have to fight through it.  Hot Mama calls me up when she goes to pick up the Kid and our sitter told her that the Kid was not interested in food at all and had a tummy ache.  I told her that I haven’t been feeling well all day either.   The second sign something is up!

Hot Mama then invites a friend and her daughter over for dinner, since we had a punch of pizza materials left over from the birthday party (I’ll be sure to get Hot Mama to write up a post about what we did for lunch during his birthday party).   The Kid during that time decides it is time to shower Hot Mama in baby formula! Luckily, we have such a great friend, that she gave the Kid a bath so that Mama could clean up. Well this was just the start of a wild and crazy night.

I come home from work and I was still not feeling 100% but enough to go to sleep and hope that I feel better by morning.  2am hits and I was not woken up by the Kid amazingly, but by the rumblings in my tummy.  I rush over and lose everything I ate that day, I suddenly feel a ton better.  5am hits and now it’s Hot Mama’s turn!  What ever this bug was, it was moving fast and hit everyone in its path.

Hot Mama calls in sick for the day and she is still not able to keep water down and is basically incapable at that point to take care of the Kid, who we can tell is feeling alittle bit better.  Since Hot Mama is not able to take care of the Kid I need to call in so that I can stay home and take care of him.  Any of you who know the TV business know that November is not a good time to call in sick, it is what we call a ratings book and when you see TV Stations do ridiculous hard hitting investigations just to get you to watch so that they can make money until the next ratings book.  Well on-top of it being November it is also an election day.  UGH what a great day for me to stay home and take care of my family!  I work in such a great and understanding place that I didn’t catch grief over it.

One day later we are all feeling a lot better!

I’m not one who gets sick very often but I have noticed now with the Kid in daycare I seem to get the sniffles and sneezes more then I have in the past.  Hot Mama hates it because she can be sick as a dog and I’m always at 100%.  Is it a right of passage for parents to get sick along with their kids when their sick?

Oh and the friend that came over, now her and her daughter have what we have!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

