Year One: The Letter


© The Rookie Dad

Dear Kid,

Well here you are, 1 year old!  Are you excited? Nervous? Scared? Amazed? Fired up for what is to come?  You know that mom and I are right?

You have come so far in one short year.  You cried the first time you rolled over since you did not know what to do at that point. You grinned when you first climbed up on the ottoman, but then cried when you feel down when you lost your balance. It has been amazing to see the progress from not even crawling to walking in a matter of two weeks when you were 9 months old.

I know that I have not been the best of dads.  I am sorry about that.  I have yelled in frustration because I had no idea what was wrong.   I even made the mistake of giving you juice that you shouldn’t have had giving you horrible diaper rash.  I am sorry.   I have dropped you when you were wanting down out of my arms and you hit your head.  Again, I am sorry, I did not mean to.

I was overwhelmed when we brought you home for the first time, I won’t lie, I had no clue what I was doing, had no idea how to raise a child.  I have been learning as I go, learned a lot of things to do and a ton more things that I should not do, ever.  Just like making sure I pick you up when I leave our bed in the morning.  Not to tickle you on your face so that your cheeks turn red right before we go get pictures taken (mom was not to happy with me on that one).   I have learned its a wrestling match with you right now when we get you into your pajamas.   Letting a double ear infection go uncared for because I have a fear of doctors, you were very miserable during that time and I apologize for not going to get it treated.

Despite all of the things I have done wrong, I will admit that I must be doing something right.   You have learned how to throw a baseball already, Grandpa will be happy to see that you have your baseball pitching form down already.  You know how to clap when the wheel spins on Wheel of Fortune… even though that might not have been something I taught you, you were smart enough to see when you clap.  I have taught you how to dance like a white man, I will be sure to get mom to teach you how to dance so you can impress the ladies when you are in high school.  Oh and speaking of the ladies, you are already a true ladies man.  You flirt with the ladies whenever we go out to eat, you were even flirting with one of your friends at your first birthday party.  Everyone saw it, you weren’t hiding it very well.  You must have already picked up on the things that I used to pick up mom… the work trust me.

William, I love you! I’m looking forward to seeing you grow up and become a man.  You may only have another 17 years under our roof, but I have a lifetime to teach you how to be the man I could only dream of being.

Love,
Your Dad

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. It sounds like a wonderful first year!

  2. It flies by way too fast. What a gift you are giving to your son by leaving this journey of yours in written form. : )

  3. this is so sweet! Happy Birthday and congratulations!

  4. Brandon… I couldn’t be happier to have you as the father of my grandson. You’re doing a great job. All parents make mistakes from time to time, but the joys of fatherhood you have ahead of you will far out weigh the trials that are sure to come. Take my word on it, in 17 years you will look back and wonder where all the time has gone. It will seem like you blinked 3 times and he’s 18. Love you!

  5. You need to write a letter every year! Seriously! Then keep the letters {you’ll have to print them out} and give them to your son when he has his first child! Awesome tradition I do. 🙂 You are a wonderful Dad! I’m sure you are an inspiration to many! This is wonderful!

  6. Great letter. We’ve all done some not so great things to our kids in their first year. They’re new at life, we’re new at parenting, sometimes things go wrong.

    Here’s to the next year being as good (or better than) the first!

  7. Awesome letter and down the road it’s going to mean so much to him. Hold onto it though because it will be one of those memories that you will never want to let go. The time just goes by way to fast.

  8. Awwww! Happy birthday to your chipmunk! Wait when he starts talking more. 😉

  9. Happy birthday to your Wm. I also wrote a letter to my twin boys (Michael and Wm) when they turned 3 this past summer. I could barely see while typing. Something I plan to do every year…if not more often. Great job my friend!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

