Survival: Year One


I can’t believe that we have made it this far.   Yesterday was the big celebration of the Kid being one year old (his actual birthday is Nov. 8th)  We held the typical birthday bash for him.  I’m sure that he knew the day was all about him which it was and I don’t want to take away from that, but to Hot Mama and myself this signals a bigger triumph: Hot Mama and I have survived a year!

© The Rookie Dad

Both Hot Mama and myself told each other before the Kid arrived that if we can make it through a year we will be fine.  It hasn’t been easy by any means, sleepless nights, the frustration of never knowing what is exactly wrong with the kid, ear infections, and numerous bumps and bruises but you know what, the kid is still here! In our books, that is a victory!  Another victory, Hot Mama and I haven’t killed each other!

We survived that’s all that matter.

It has been amazing watching the Kid grow up during this year.  I remember the day he was born like it was yesterday.  Getting the phone call, nearly freaking out, driving home to pick Hot Mama up, timing her contractions as were driving to the hospital, and then helping her during labor, counting out her pushes, and then getting to hold our son!  Now, watching him grow is just simply incredible: learning to roll over, learning to sit, stand up, walk while holding onto something, and finally walking and now babbling like there is no tomorrow.

There will be lots of new things to discover in the future.  I’m sure once the Kid starts talking, we will want him to just shut up, just like with the walking I wish he would just sit down and play with his toys instead of walking over into the kitchen and getting in the drawer with all of the kitchen towels in them and throwing them in glee all over.  I am however, very excited to hear his stories and the things he discovers.

© The Rookie Dad

Here is to another year of survival and discovery!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Doesn’t the one year make you fill up with pride? Hold on tight to those memories because time flys when your having fun. Today is the first, tomorrow is the eighteenth. Congrats!

  2. Aw…made me tear up a little! Once they start talking it’s great! They talk in their cribs and have full conversations with themselves. It isn’t til they are about 3 1/2 that you want them to shut up! Congratulations on making it through!

  3. Wow! My husband and I are right around the corner from our daughters first birthday — its a couple of weeks away and I agree – what a whirlwind!!! I think our victory is staying together and still loving each other! Because it was so tough on our relationship, but we got through it. We have a daughter that is amazing, beautiful and we’re so proud of her — and Z and I are still married! Woo hoo!!
    Congrats on your little ones FIRST BDAY! So exciting!!!

  4. Congratulations to the family and specially to the birthday boy. My oldest will turn 12 on the 9th. As Gary was saying, time flies when you’re having fun!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

