The New Me (I made sure to ask first)


Being a parent is new territory for me, obviously right? I’ve never raised a son or a kid before. Never had to think to much about how much food, medicine, or how much water to put in a bathtub for a kid. Well those are things I have to think about now, things I need to find out!

© The Rookie Dad

Hot Mama will tell you that I am the type of person who hates to ask for help. It’s true, I do have that problem, I’m not going to lie. I hate asking customer service for help, I believe I know more then they do, which 60% of the time I do know more everytime. I’m of the mind set that I can figure things out on my own, that is things that effect me, not my son.

The past couple of days the chipmunk has been acting normal but he has had a runny nose, more poopy diapers, and a raspy voice. I wasn’t going to take him to the doctors just because personally, I hate doctors, I still do. I am the person who, if I can still wake up every day and move, I am going to be at work (I apologize for any illnesses I have given my co-workers). But since I am dealing with a 9 month old, I will freely admit, I do not know what to expect. I do not know what is normal and what needs to be check out by a doctor.

I take him to the doctor and says to give him a 1/4 teaspoon of Zyrtec or the generic will be just fine too. I felt kind of silly taking him to the doctors because all of the symptoms he had before, he was not having at that point in time with the exception of the raspy voice. We head off to Target, I head down the allergy section and get some Zyrtec. This is when the smart side of my brain kicked in, ask Hot Mama it doesn’t kick in alot. I had the pills picked out. My brain goes…

How in the heck are you going to know what a 1/4 of teaspoon is of the pills? Why don’t you ask if you have the right thing?

Gee that was such a smart thing to do and probably saved my son’s life, I’M A LIFESAVER! With the exception of when I double to the dose of benedryl the other day without even thinking about it. I was wondering why he was not acting himself that afternoon. I digress, the pharmacy tech then took me to where the children’s zyrtec was and then told me that they only had the generic form since the actual Children’s Zyrtec has been recalled.Luckily, I had inserted my foot in my mouth but was thinking…

How can the actual form of the medicine be recalled but the generics not be?

Anyway, I was glad that I asked since I probably would have made the chipmunk even sicker then he is. Hot Mama is too! She has been wondering how long it was going to take me to start asking for help.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. ha ha ha! I would have loved to see you try and give him a pill!

  2. Yeah…kids and their health…what can I say?! I am glad my son is not a baby anymore – babies can’t really tell you what is wrong, they won’t swallow a pill.Wait a second, you are living this now!
    It will get better. Soon. It has already been 10 months, right?

    • yes he is 10 months. That is the part that stinks the most is him not being able to communicate with us and tell us what is wrong. It is a guessing game to figure out what is signals really are.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

