It’s What the Doctor Ordered, Atleast I Think He Did


Lately, Hot Mama and I have been wondering how much longer it is until the chipmunk gets a full night sleep without waking up.  We asked our doctor at the chipmunk’s 9 month appointment and got an answer that I knew was coming, Hot Mama didn’t want to hear, and the chipmunk wouldn’t like at all.

Having a pediatrician with a very thick Indian accent, I am glad that Hot Mama was at this appointment because I was about 5 minutes behind in the conversation trying to figure out what he was saying.   Even though I have to put my full concentration on what he is saying (ask Hot Mama only hear things, I don’t ever really listen), I can understand bit and pieces.  The conversation which followed with him was one that I was really trying to listen but still didn’t follow.

He mention something about Pavlov, I think, or so Hot Mama tells me, I was still 5 minutes behind at this point when he was talking about his head circumference.  He told us this “once he cries, turn the baby monitor off, wait 20 minutes, let him cry it out, and if after 30 minutes he is still crying go in and let him know that you are still there.”  The Pavlov comment came from when we told him that every time he cries, we go change and feed him.  So, by doing that, we are conditioning him to think that every time he does that action, he gets this certain result.  Which could be also why we are having such a spoiled little baby right now (that is a whole other post).

© The Rookie Dad

The first night was the most difficult.  Like most moms, Hot Mama had a very difficult time just letting him cry.  She was very fearful about what he was thinking about us, she wasn’t sure if he was thinking that both mom and dad have abandoned him.   He ended up crying for a full 30 minutes, and she fed him, he went back to sleep, and slept from midnight to 9am!  Results, one can only hope.  The next day he was incredible!  I’m going to go out on a limb and say, the best he has ever been! With the exception of him trying to crawl, and crawl, and crawl, into the bathroom that was being painted and we wanted to keep him out.  Apparently, our child is very persistent.

We knew that his schedule was going to change once we started doing this, since Hot Mama’s sister (a nurse) mentioned for better results, don’t let the chipmunk sleep after 4pm.  We attempted that yesterday, however the chipmunk had only one nap from 1 to 2:30pm.  We let him take a short hour nap at about 7pm and then kept him up until about 11pm.  We don’t know what his schedule will be after this but one can only hope that he does nap more then once during the day, for my sake and his sake.

This morning he slept until about 7:30am, so something is working, but something tells me that it won’t really be this easy, right? Nothing ever is.  One can only hope.

Also I should have a post about our vacation soon!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m glad to hear that it’s working so quickly for you!

    There’s nothing worse than listening to your little one cry, knowing that you have to let them keep doing it.

    • Yeah, I don’t think it really worked that quickly. His napping schedule is all changed now and so we are adjusting to a new schedule as well.

      We will see how this works over the long haul.

  2. I have 2 boys, 5 and 2…listening to them cry is the hardest thing, but the doc kinda has it right. We were told the 5min rule when laying them down for a nap also, and our second one was healthy enough that he didn’t need to waken every 3 hrs to feed, so let them cry it out…if they are fed with a clean diaper, and there arm isn’t broken “let them cry it out”…lol easier said then done by far. Sounds like you are on the right track, and it can change that fast. good luck with all to you and your family.

  3. At 4 months my son slept through the night, and then at 6 he started getting up again to eat. My pediatrician looked at my 17 lb 6 month old and said…he isn’t starving. You can let him cry it out. It was tough on me- very tough, but by the third night he was back to sleepoing through the night and is still a good sleeper at 3 1/2. My daughter on the other hand…I’d be happy if she only got up once a night, but it’s usually 2-4 times a night still! (and she’s two)

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

