BC and AD


Diaper bag, diapers, wipes, toys, food, and the baby.  That is only part of my list of items to get before I leave the house with the chipmunk.  Where as before he changed our lives, I was able to get up and leave the house and go for a Sonic run in an instant.  Now all of that has changed.

Hot mama and I usually go grocery shopping on Wednesday, since I am off on those days I usually meet her at a place to eat.  Before the chipmunk (BC), I would be able to leave 15 minutes before our meeting time.  After D-Day (AD),  I start packing my diaper bag 30 minutes before needing to meet hot mama.  Then 20 minutes before meeting the wife, I pack up the chipmunk and that leaves me enough time to get there to meet her on time.

BC, I was able to sleep until 9.
AD, I can’t sleep past 7:30.

BC, I was able to watch whatever I wanted to on TV.
AD, Now I have to turn the TV off so the chipmunk does not watch TV.

BC, I was able to watch whatever I wanted to on TV. (not a typo)
AD, Now Barney is on TV instead of Survivorman.

BC, I was able to hear the TV.
AD, Now I have another noise maker, making hearing the game extremely hard.

BC, I was able to walk through our house without tripping on anything.
AD, Now I stumble over everything as I make my way.

BC, Hot mama and I would be able to go on a walk in our neighborhood just the two of us.
AD, Now we are pushing a stroller and get interrupted by cute baby onlookers.

BC, Hot Mama and I could go on a date night whenever we wanted to.
AD, We can only hope that we can find a babysitter so that we can get some time to ourselves.

BC, I was able to go to sleep whenever I wanted.
AD, Ok good the baby is asleep and it is 9pm, I’m going to bed now too!

It is amazing how when you start to think about the different ways that your child changes your life and how hard it is to think about what your life was before them.   People ask me all the time if I wish we didn’t have a child and I say no.  I’m so thankful for the chipmunk, he has changed my life so much and only for the better.   There are some people outside of our lives that don’t realize that we weren’t even sure if we were going to be able to have a child of our own.  In fact just days before finding out we were pregnant we were talking about adoption.  The chipmunk is such a blessing despite some of the things I may say about him on here!

Don’t forget to head over to Blogger Idol and vote.  DaddysinCharge featured me on his blog this week and voting began yesterday and goes until tomorrow so be sure to vote!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am writing about Barney today too. I hate him!

  2. Date night? What does that mean? It’s easy to think of the many, many, super much many ways having a baby interrupts my freedom. I suppose that’s why my single friends can’t comprehend the idea that I actually enjoy it! Great post!

  3. Before baby: I didn’t really know what sacrifice meant.
    After baby: I know how much I have to to give.

    Great post!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

