I Will Do Anything!


Ever since I have become a parent I have learned that I am willing to do just about anything to keep the chipmunk happy.  It doesn’t matter if I am in public or not, I will do just about anything.

So the other night as my wife and I were driving from a semi successful shopping trip.  I say semi because she got new shoes and we were unable to find the car seat that the chipmunk needed since the chipmunk has been eating us out of house and home and is about to out grow his carrier.

We let him sleep while I ran into Heaven and Hell (Target and Wal-mart), and that was where I couldn’t find the right seat, even though I got over my fear of asking for help and asked a Target employee if they had it even though it said they did online but I couldn’t find it.  Come to find out the Internet lies!

We decide to wake up the sleeping giant and get him into his stroller so that mommy could find some new kicks.  Which as we were getting ready to walk out of the store she found the exact pair that she wanted.  Then we decide it time to hit up the local custard shack and head home.  Disaster was looming.

The chipmunk started getting cranky so this is what ensued:

What you can’t hear is in the background the chipmunk is laughing everytime I make that noise.

This was when I realized that I will do anything to keep the chipmunk happy, even if he can’t see me.   He now recognizes mom and dads voice, as well as mom’s ringtone on my phone (Hot Mama by Trace Adkins by the way… very appropriate).  There are times where mom and dad will put the other person on speaker phone so that he can hear us, he even will talk back to us.

This is something that I have noticed for a while.  I spoke about this back in January (My Inner Child) but I didn’t realize how true it was until now.  I will make a funny face, laugh, tickle just about anything to keep him from being cranky in public.  I don’t care what I look like to other people.  They need to see how involved a father can be.

Of course I say this while I ignore the chipmunk and write this post and watch the Colorado Rockies on the computer.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 18, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. isn’t it amazing what you will do, the sounds you will make and the lengths you will go? Do you still rock back and forth after you put the Chipmunk down? I still do (and my baby is 2) and I think people might think I am crazy!

    • I haven’t started the rocking back and forth even after he is down. I’ve seen a change in myself since being a parent from being more of an introvert to more of an extrovert, which I think the people I work with and the people in my personal life are starting to enjoy!

  2. Oh the joy of parenthood!

  3. As long as they are happy you are happy..

  4. I love the speakerphone trick! My little one often gets confused as to why mommy’s voice is there, but not mommy herself. She digs it, though.

    And I’m with you on the “do anything to make ’em happy” trip. I’ve definitely gotten strange faces out in public when I talk to my daughter as I push her in the stroller. We have conversations, even though she usually doesn’t have much to say :).

  1. Pingback: Technology and the Family « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

