Sure, I’ll Pay More for Netflix


By now we have all heard about the price increase with Netflix, most of us aren’t very happy and are going to cancel our subscription because of it.  But Hot Mama and I are not going to cancel and here is why.

© The Rookie Dad

We have an 8 month old.  That’s it!  I don’t know how many parents have bothered to take a look at the “Children and Family” section of the instant streaming, but it is pretty massive.  The chipmunk has recently taken a liking to Barney.  Mainly because I turn on PBS in the morning when it is on and he will just sit up and watch the purple dinosaur talk and dance.  He loves it!  So it got me thinking what all can we find instantly on Neflix.

There are certain things that we have chosen to not let the chipmunk watch.  Mainly, Japanese Anime, it was a decision we both came to pretty easily.  So we knew that Pokeman, Yugioh, and such would be out.  So knowing that the chipmunk likes Barney, I did a search for it.  OMG You would not believe all the Barney shows they have on Netflix Instant!  Almost to much to count!  Then did a search for the famous Blue engine that could, Thomas the Tank, again to much to count!

To take a trip down memory lane, I searched Sesame Street which my dad and I watched when I was a kid, and found seasons 35 – 41 with 12 episodes each! I think that would keep the chipmunk occupied a bit.

I don’t want you to think that I am going to just plop the chipmunk down and let the TV be my babysitter.  That isn’t my intention.  The reason for this search was part of our decision making into whether or not we should cancel or downgrade our membership with Netflix.

We like getting the DVDs by mail.  We’ve recently started watching all of the James Bond movies in order from the beginning, and the only way to be able to do that is by getting the DVDs in the mail.   Also their streaming content is nowhere near competing their DVD content.  I like watching some of these classic movies, and they just don’t have a lot of that on instant.

Also we have decided to cut the cord with our Directv in January when our contract is up.   We both watch enough TV as it is.  A Roku Box will replace cable and we will get a Hulu Plus Membership and won’t miss a thing, of course all of our shows like How I Met Your Mother and The Office will be a day late, but that doesn’t matter to us.   By cutting the cord, we will be able to focus so much more time on family time and we won’t just plop ourselves down in front of the TV for the night.

Netflix has been spared for this price hike and probably a few others for now anyway.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

