Social Media and Your Baby


My wife would find it ironic that I am blogging about this and have the opinion that I do, but today when I was browsing Facebook it hit me.  Why do parents create a Facebook or Twitter account for their kids?

This is very strange coming from the guy who is addicted to social media, I have my personal Facebook, my blogs Facebook and twitter accounts, and now a Google+ account (I will only invite you if I’ve known you for a while so don’t bother asking).  I find it hard enough to keep up with all of those.  Where do you find the time to even update for your baby?  I have a hard enough time trying to keep this blog up with an 8 month old!

Can someone tell me the point of creating Facebook pages for your baby’s? What are their status updates? Goo Goo, Gaa Gaa, Da, Da?  How does that enhance your parenting skills?  Are you so addicted to Facebook and Twitter that you need to have the account for your baby and provide updates?  Why can’t you use your own accounts to keep people aware of what is going on with your baby? Read the Facebook Terms of Service, “You will not use Facebook if you are under 13.”  Is your baby 13, NO I don’t think so! Rules are made to be broken I realize that, but come on enough is enough.  We see enough of your baby on your personal Facebook page why would I want to be friends with your baby?

I made the comment about the chipmunk getting a Twitter account before he was born, my wife shot it down.  Thank you! I’m so glad that you told me not to do that.

How soon is to soon? If Facebook and Twitter are still around in 12 years (if Google+ hasn’t taken over the world at that point) when the chipmunk gets into social media, I know that my wife and I will have rules in place.  What those rules will be, I don’t know.  Google+ is changing the way people can share things and when the chipmunk gets on that, he will realize that, “Hey, mom and dad can be in a different circle and I can keep them from seeing everything.”  There comes a point when teenagers don’t understand the implications of the things they post on social media.  I’ve been caught with some of the things I have said on my professional twitter account before and talked to at work because of it.  Even though you don’t mean things to come across a certain way on social media, it comes across in a totally different way to other people.   Teenagers just don’t understand that, so as parents we must come up with rules to safe guard them.

I know these are some very strong opinions and a complete reversal of my thoughts before the chipmunk was born.  Some of you may not agree with them, and that’s alright.  We all have differing opinions, so if your baby has a social media account, I’m interested, why did you decide to do it?  Comment either on this blog or on my blogs (not my babies) Facebook page.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 10, 2011, in Parenting, Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I suppose it may be easier to ‘tag’ your babys pictures, and so when you want to browse through them collectively, they are all displayed at once. Or maybe you want to ‘check in’ with your baby at certain places.
    But yes I agree, it is completely ridiculous to create a Facebook account for babies. I am very picky over which pictures I have of my baby on social media, I hate the idea of people passing judgment on him just because his hair was blowing the wrong direction on that particularly shot, or he had a smudge of food by his mouth.

  2. Amen! I agree as well. There is no need until they are older. I monitor my cousin’s page for his parents and really there isn’t anything he’s put on there that I didn’t say or do in high school. The difference is only my friends remember and rib me for those things. It’s not posted forever on the Internet for all to see.

  3. My teens have Facebook. It is hard for them to understand how to use it appropriately. The boy recently unfriended a kid from church. now he has to see him all the time and deal with the ramifications of that. A good, but uncomfortable, lesson to learn about social media.

  4. I hope FB isn’t around when my kids are old enough for an account. It is an incredible waste of time (as you know since we both write on each others). Social media is taking away real relationships! Some FB with each other while they are in the same room! I bet they don’t even know what the Pony Express is!

  5. Facebook has become like a personal photo album and “slum” book of sorts. As such, it makes sense to create one for your kid so that it’s easy to put together and organize his stuff. I thought of this but I just did not want too many accounts lying there online. I am actually contemplating on taking my flicker account seriously and organize family pics there. I can put more privacy to that account as I can lock it. My Facebook account is for friends and acquaintances and is meant to be just a “flash” of who I am. I do not load all my photos there (as I also do not believe everyone looks into more than 30 pics at a time).

  6. I actually considered getting a Facebook account for my 5-month-old. The only reason i wanted to do it was because Facebook is the easiest way for me to share photos with my parents and my siblings of the little guy. All of my family lives about 12-16 hours away, so I really don’t get to see them very often and they want pictures all the time. I use my account now to post them, but I am getting complaints from other people that I post WAY too many pictures. If I had an account for him, I could post his pictures and only have close family or friends follow him. That way it is the best of two worlds for me. I am still considering it, but as you said Facebook’s rules say that there shouldn’t be accounts for people under 13 and I have read that when they find accounts for babies, they delete them.

  7. My son is almost nine and he uses my husband’s facebook account (my husband is very anti-FB, he hates it with a passion). At first he (my son) was loving it because he could play farmville, but then, like most things, he lost interest and now rarely gets on facebook. I am happy with that as I know what an obsession facebook was for me in the beginning.

  8. Ugh, I’m not looking forward to when my little one is old enough for social media. Maybe it’s different for Google+, but Facebook exists to make money for companies, and I don’t think kids really get that.

    For now, my little one doesn’t have any social media profiles. We share pictures of her through Facebook and Picasa, and that works well enough for now.

  9. I would consider doing a separate page for my future child, for 2 reasons :

    1. People seem to get tagged in photos that only contain their baby and not actually them
    2. People put status updates every day about their baby and practically nothing else

    Therefore, if people specifically want to read about how my baby is doing, or see endless photos of them, they can ‘friend request’ that profile.
    This should prevent alienating my friends (particularly those who don’t have babies) who don’t want to know the day-to-day baby stuff.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

