Product Review: Bumbo Chair


It is important to know that as of August 15th, 2012 Bumbo Chairs have been recalled.  Please go here to find out what you need to do if you own a bumbo.  This is no way affects my review of this product.

All parents find things that they love, and I mean LOVE! Well our bumbo chair was one of them.  This is a recently retired item in our household since the chipmunks legs are getting to fat to fit into the chair.   Without a doubt though this is one of those products that is functional and yet versatile.

My Take

The bumbo chair as mentioned above is quite possibly one of the best products a parent can own in the first year of your child.   The chipmunk could sit in this chair and play for hours on end.  We purchased the Seat Tray which was great for putting toys down for the chipmunk to play with.  Once he was able to get moving we put the chair on a chair to act like a high chair.   Now, don’t go calling SRS on me, since that is a big No-No.  I believe it even says that on the chair itself to not put the bumbo on an elevated surface, but we all know as parents we don’t always listen to the rules.  As long as you sit there with the baby in the bumbo you should be fine.   With the seat tray we were even able to feed the chipmunk while he was in the bumbo.   It was really nice being able to set him in it and give him his first haircut too!

Downside

The only downside to this was we had to retire it to early, because the slots for the legs became to small.  Not that big of a deal but would have been nice to have been able to use it just a tad bit longer.  Maybe we just fed the chipmunk to many donuts and it all went to his thighs.

About the Recall

Ok from a little bit of research, this chair was recalled in 2007.  Reason, parents would put this chair on an elevated surface like a counter top and the baby would essentially flip backwards and fall off the counter top causing serious head injuries.  THIS IS NOT A BABYSITTER! What ever you do don’t act like this is a babysitter, don’t set your baby in it and leave, and if you’re dumb enough to leave your child while it is in a chair or elevated somehow, don’t blame the company.  You are a stupid parent and part of the reason why companies have to act like people are 3!  Sorry I am off my rant now!

End all

I give this the Rookie Dad seal of approval since it is so versatile.   How many products out there can keep a baby occupied for hours (another one that kept ours happy coming soon though) and you can do so many things with it like feed him, give him a haircut, let him play, and do all of those things.  This product is a must have for all parents.

I was not paid or compensated in any way for this review.  It was my personal opinion and should be used as just that.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The Bumbo chair is awesome! I found I didn’t like the tray. Adam was able to get it off very easily. Adam doesn’t sit in his much any more because he can get out of it but he uses it to help him get up or leans on it and slides it across the floor while he’s crawling.

  2. Crafting A Legacy

    I LOVED our bumbo chair, and like you, HATED when my son’s legs no longer fit! They really need to make those slots bigger…of course then some parent would leave their baby unattended, the baby would slide out, or find some other method of slipping through the openings and there would be another stupid recall ruining it for all of us good parents :), and so alas, thats why the leg slots are too small! J/k . Have a great day..

  3. I loved my bumbo! It was the best! And yes- you must be a complete moron to leave your child in one on a bed and expect great results! We used to take ours on vacation as a high chair.

    • Funny you should mention taking it on vacation. We might have to pull ours out from the basement and take it on our vacation in early August. I never did think of that.

  4. Nooooooo! Don’t retire it! We absolutely LOVE our Bumbos! My twins went through the same fat-leg stage when they were younger, but at about 20 months, they started growing longer legs and slimming down a bit. The Bumbos are now their favorite TV chair and I also use them (with supervision) as bath chairs in hotel rooms when we travel. They are almost 2 and a half. Put yours up in a closet for a few months – trust me! You will get to love it again…

  5. I hated the Bumbo chair. My kids were too independent to sit in them.

  6. The Bumbo was fantastic for us!

    Around five months or so, the little one got too squirmy for it, and we had to retire it.

    Up until then, though, it was a lifesaver. I’d sit her it in and actually be able to do things like cooking or dishes. Without it, I would have had to listen to her cry in her playpen as i did chores.

  7. I love my bumbo I found these online reviews useful, if you want to see a video check this one out I found it helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHogYoX14LU

  1. Pingback: Sweeping Epidemic « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

