Yo, Neighbors, I have an 8 Month Old!


© The Rookie Dad

Praise to the holiday that people stimulate the economy by spending thousands of dollars to blow things up!  Ok well to most people you don’t spend thousands of dollars of on fireworks, but in our neighborhood people spend thousands (as reported from my neighbor who said that one of the guys in our area spent $4000 on fireworks).  These aren’t your quiet fireworks either.  These are louder than the average one, some that just go up in the air and have a loud boom, so loud in fact that it wakes me up and gives me flash backs to college, waking up and yelling at the upstairs neighbors for being loud.

I don’t mind them shooting off fireworks at all, this is after all the birthday of the U.S.A. and should be celebrated, I understand that, but the holiday falls on July 4th, not July 3rd, July 2nd or even July 1st.   Our neighbors on July 2nd were shooting fireworks well into the night, again I don’t see anything wrong with this, or I didn’t until I had a baby.

They scared the chipmunk.  He got very clingy to mom and wouldn’t let go, burying his head in her.   Reports from my lovely wife say that he wasn’t able to sleep because of them.  Ok, I understand up until a certain time but shooting them off at 11:30pm when you have to be at work the next day, seriously?  What do you do for a living that you can just blow up $4000 worth of fireworks?

It was a long weekend with the chipmunk, as he couldn’t sleep with people lighting off a roll of 1000 black cats.   I just wish that some of our neighbors would have be even slightly considerate of people in general instead of shooting fireworks at midnight.

I really hope that I am not turning into one of those grumpy old men, like Clint Eastwood from Grand Torino.   I was hoping that I had a few years before I told kids to “Get off my lawn”

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Reason #1684681831834831 why I’m so thankful to not be living in that town anymore and living in the country. LOL! I won’t have to worry about random nights of fireworks NOT on the 4th. LOL! It was an issue in our old neighborhood too. It was BAD.

    • We don’t mind it here at all. It is just sometimes our neighbors make us question. They had a random block party with a DJ and catering. It is just annoying sometimes.

  2. We have some inconsiderate folks here in our neighborhood too…I found it annoying before kids and even more now that I have them. I close all the windows and I can still hear them. What is more annoying is as a fire wife, we live in the hills and sooner or later, someone is going to spark a blaze that keeps me up at night. GRRR!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

