I’m sorry!


Dear Chipmunk,

I feel awful!  You more than likely have another ear infection.   This one is on me! Can’t blame mom or you, blame me, your dad!

Apparently, I didn’t read any research (ask mom and she will find that odd), before I started doing something, like letting you feed yourself flat on your back on the floor.  Little did I know, that if I had done my research, I would have found out that laying you flat on your back leads to ear infections.  Oops! I screwed up.  I’m sorry.

Chipmunk 7 Months (The Rookie Dad)

We haven’t gone to the doctor yet,  but you are showing the same signs that you were showing the last time you had the infection, rubbing your head behind the ear, screaming uncontrollably at night making it rough for both dad and mom (I apologize babe, I know this is all my fault).

I’m a lazy dad, I wanted to get a few things done so I would just lay you down and let you feed yourself, so that I could have some time to get some things done.  Now I know to prop you up with a pillow.

Words can’t express how awful I feel that I have caused you this pain.  No parent wants to see their little one in pain specifically a 7 month old.  WOW, you are so close to being 7 months old!

Chipmunk 3 Weeks Old (The Rookie Dad)

I was editing a video I am creating for you the other night and I can’t believe how much you have grown in the little amount of time you have been here.  I actually started tearing up a bit.

You know that you will not be able to have just your normal home movies right?  Your dad will always be wanting to edit them together and make something that is truly special.  I can’t wait until you are able to watch them and understand what is going on.

Chipmunk, I want you to know that if there is something that I am doing wrong please tell me.  I don’t want it to build up until you have another ear infection or if something I am feeding you is going to make you sick (although you do love sweet potatoes and peaches!).   I really do feel awful that you are this going on and that mom had to take care of you last night.   I’ve got some making up to do, to you and mom both!

Love,
Your dad

(for my regular readers who missed this weeks Friday FAIL, I also apologize to you, it has been a crazy week here in the Midwest with all the tornadoes and while we are ok please keep Joplin Missouri, Reading Kansas, and Sedalia Missouri (no deaths reported in that tornado but town hit hard) in your prayers.  I should be hitting up the blog more in the upcoming weeks as I have many questions I would like to ask my readers about traveling with baby’s in preparation for our next big vacation in August)

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 28, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. you have suc a cute, squishy chipmunk! Just adorable! And about the ear infection- you live, you learn. Mistakes happen! Don’t beat yourself up!

    • It is difficult not beat myself up… knowing that I am probably the cause of this. My wife says not to and that the feeding while back is flat is just an old wives tale. I don’t care if it is I’m still taking full responsibility and even thought I gotta be up tomorrow morning at 5am I’m going to take care of the chipmunk tonight.

  2. Aw, the poor guy (and you!) I have so much Mom guilt I wouldn’t know where to begin, so try not to blame yourself. Both my kids were plagued with ear infections. My daughter had double infections every month of her first year of life and finally had surgery to put tubes in. It is so hard to deal with, horrible to see your baby in pain. Hope he’s on the mend soon.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

