Oh Precious Sleep!


Chipmunk and Great Grandpa playing!

I had probably the crappiest work week this past week.  Never had a chance to sit down check my email and get gathered for the day or a chance to enjoy my lunch… I would walk in the door and my coworkers would come running to me.  That happened both Monday and Tuesday… and Monday night wasn’t that great with the chipmunk either.  So I was exhausted Tuesday, I was almost falling asleep behind the wheel.   Yeah, it wasn’t good.

My wonderful wife decided that even though it wasn’t her night to take care of the chipmunk she would so that I could get some sleep!  I can’t thank her enough.  Just giving me a full night sleep gave me the energy to be able to hang with the chipmunk, who had his 6th month check up a get shots, he wasn’t really happy.   I was able to get our front garden taken care of that we are working on, bush removed, garden tilled and ready for the weed fabric.   I wouldn’t have been able to do all that had I had to wake up at 4:30am.

I can’t thank my wife enough for letting me sleep!   I needed it!

Oh and the chipmunk slept through the night last night!  With the exception of waking up at 4am, freaking out that something was wrong, checking the baby monitor, and expecting to take care of him that was the best night sleep I have gotten since he made his entrance into the world! So I should be good for another 6 months of waking up every night right?

Why is it that when the baby sleeps through the night we as parents always wake up and freak out that something is wrong with them?   My first instinct was to get up and check on him… which I didn’t cause I would have probably woken him up… but I did check that we did have the baby monitor on which we did.

Speaking of the devil…. the chipmunk finally woke up after an 11 hour sleeping coma!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m glad the chipmunk is sleeping better and you are right ..with one good sleep under your belt you should be good for another six months! 🙂

  2. I only did that freak-out the first few nights. After that, I started feeling more confident I was seeing the beginning of a pattern and enjoyed it. 🙂

    None of this is to say I didn’t keep checking on him several times a night, just in case, if I was already up. *cough*

  3. The waking up thing will pass! The more they sleep, the more you sleep! Glad you are getting some- I am too! It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep can do for you!

  4. Yay! A good night’s sleep. I don’t think anyone can really appreciate how much we gain from one of those…until children. 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

