What is wrong?


Dear chipmunk,

I don’t know what is wrong.  I’ve tried telling you but you refuse to listen.

You woke up at 1:30, 4:30 and then again at 7:30… you know this is VERY difficult on daddy who gets home close to midnight from work.   Mom said she had a difficult night with you last night trying to get you to sleep… are you nervous that you have more shots tomorrow?

You have been inconsolable all day.  You didn’t even allow me to put you down to make my lunch without crying.   I finally resorted to just letting you cry so that I could make my one escape from work… a nice turkey, mustard, and pepper jack sandwich on wheat!

You didn’t even give me a chance to make phone calls to see who has a tiller available tomorrow so that I can work on the garden.  I made one call, unsuccessfully, and then you started your crying yet again.

Ever since we got word that you had an ear infection, got that taken care of, you were so good until now.  What happened?

Lucky for you, I’m attempting to go through today without any coffee.  Remember now that comes out of your allowance and even if I have to stop at Quiktrip and make my patented iced coffee that still counts against you.

Hopefully this isn’t anything to serious and that you are just having a bad day since you didn’t sleep well last night.

Love,
Daddy

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Some days they just *need* us. sigh.

  2. pinoyleonardo

    Emotional need of attention. Or maybe they feel something?

  3. pinoyleonardo

    To add- last time my daughter had stomach flu, she kept crying we did not know what she wanted or how she felt. We found out it was her tummy and afterwards she puked. She later learned how to say her tummy’s aching. I guess in your kid’s case- you just need to find out…

  4. countrycarrie68

    My first thought was to check the ear again. But some days are just hard.

  1. Pingback: Oh Precious Sleep! « The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

