Daddy Podcast Review (Dadlabs)


When I found out that I was going to be a dad, one of the first things I did was go to the internet, why, well partly because of my technology addiction, but also to get help from other dads in the same position as me.   One of the things I came across was podcast about being a dad.

My Take

The Dadlabs podcast are great.  They are short and to the point, usually in the range from 2 – 5 minutes.   They talk about one topic throughout the whole thing so that you don’t get lost throughout the podcast.  Although how much can you really cram into a 5 minute podcast.

Topics

As I mentioned they cover a ton of topics in their short podcast.  Topics like water safety, books, travel, and technology for dads.

Dadlabs review a lot of items that will help not only dads but moms as well.

They have also a segment called Survivor Dad.  He is a stay at home dad who gives his advice on how to handle being a stay at home dad.  Personally, this is one of my favorites to watch when he comes out with new stuff.

Dadlabs also attend many conferences so they are able to bring a lot of their experiences from those conferences to the table.  They even attend some mommy conferences like Mom 2.0 which is odd when you think about it but it does help them gather material and information to tell other dads.

Downside

It seems as though these dad’s are more of the affluent kind and have a hard time connecting with the dads who live and work with a budget.   When Dadlabs reviews and item it is usually on the higher price range of baby items.    I don’t mind hearing about those items but most of them I will never be able to afford even though most of the items do look pretty sweet.

End all

I’ve subscribed to this podcast in iTunes and I would highly recommend it to any dad.  I’ve learned a lot from just watching these… they are funny and informative if you can get over some of the cheesy comedy.   Not only does the Dadlabs do just a podcast but they also have a blog, forum, and live show on Thursday afternoons and for that I give this podcast the Rookie Dad seal of approval!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Reviews, Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. pinoyleonardo

    This is a nice resouce! I’m gonna be back and look at this in detail 😉

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

