Family Chemist


Anyone one else feel like a chemist when they are filling up syringes to give their child medicine?

Between having to make sure that I have the right amount in the things then getting to much into it and spitting some back out of the syringe, I feel like I need to go back to college to make sure that I’m certified to dispense this stuff!

We’ve been dealing with these ear infections now, which are a TON better than they were a week ago, we have to  remember how much of the amoxicillan, benedryl, and Tylenol he can have! All of them require a different dosage and well better hope you don’t get the amoxicillan and the benedryl doses wrong or else the chipmunk might not wake up for a few days!

Then you have to remember how soon and how many times a baby can take the medicine!  There have been many times where I have asked the question how many times has he taken the Tylenol.

I’m glad that the chipmunk is finally feeling better and the way that he is behaving is proof of that.  Smiling, laughing, and just generally more happy than he has ever been!  But my biggest fear is that I will overdose him on some of the medicine!

What are some ways that you keep track of the medicine that your baby takes?

I have set up a facebook page for “The Rookie Dad” there will be more status updates, videos, and photos posted up then what you will see here.  Just click on the facebook icon at the very top right hand corner of this blog and it will send you right to the page!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I set reminders in my blackberry.

  2. I’ve been using The Total Baby App on the iPhone. It was awesome when Adam was sick and still is for tracking baby data. I swear by it to help me remember everything! We also have here little medicine bottles for giving medicine to baby. I didn’t use mine Adam loved the syringe, he got excited whenever he saw it.

    I’m glad the chipmunk is feeling better! It’s no fun when they are sick.

    • Do you happen to know if the app has the ability to sync between a couple different iPhones? My wife has one too and that is a feature I have been looking for in an app.

  3. I remember those days! I’m old school though, didn’t have all of the cool apps and stuff. I just kept a small notepad to log who got what and when. Having very little sleep raising twins did not leave much room for memory : )

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

