The Gift of Sleep


Dear William,

You have given your parents the best Easter gift one could receive as new parents, SLEEP!  Despite having now double ear infection you have slept through the night for the last two nights.  I’m sure you’re in a drug coma, of Amoxicillin and Benadryl.   But we appreciate this gift of sleep! I just hope it continues into next week when I am in charge of waking up at night to take care of you!

You are now sitting up! It’s amazing! Even with the support of the Boppy, you enjoy sitting up and playing with your driving toy! It looks as thought you will be a driver like your dad… who is always distracted, not by his phone, but by his surroundings.

You tried so hard to crawl last night! You were pushing yourself up but would just do a belly flop back on the floor.  You don’t quite yet have the strength and coordination to know what to do yet!  You are getting SO close.  Which means now mom and dad have to go around and start pickup stuff up that you can reach to.  We didn’t have to worry about it before but now that you’re getting ready to crawl… I don’t think mom would like it if you pulled out every book off the bookshelf that she neatly organized.

We’ve told you this before but I will say it again, we feel bad about your ear infections.  We know that there was nothing we could have done but you took it like a trooper and didn’t show any symptoms until we went to the doctor.   You are a tough guy for putting up with it until we found out!  We didn’t mean to let it go, we just didn’t know!

You’re making dad turn into a softie! Mom even sees it! You have me wrapped around your little finger and you know it! When you do nothing but cry when I try to put you to sleep… I just pick you right back up and start to play with you again, and your as happy as can be!  Don’t use that to your advantage later in life, I don’t think I will stay this way.

Until next time chipmunk… I love you!

Love,
Your Dad

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 24, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Enjoy those nights of sleep! Even as they get older, a parent really never sleeps soundly! : )

  2. Very sweet! 🙂

    Did you panic the first time he slept through the night? I remember waking at 4:15 one morning and going, “Mmm, so well rested!” Immediately afterward, I thought: “My baby! SOMETHING IS WRONG!”

    I only panicked that first time. After that, it was all gratitude, all the time!

  3. I remember when my daughter first slept through the night (kinda–she still nurses through the night), I was worried cause she wasn’t crying. But it was glorious. And just ramblin’ is right, sleeping soundly will be a thing of the past. I sure miss it.

  4. I’m so jealous! I need sleep! I haven’t slept in days!

    • Let me go on the record now and say that I am pretty upset that he slept through the night on the nights when I had to be at work at 6am the next day! Why couldn’t it have been on a day when I could have slept in?

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

