A Thank You Note


Dear William,

Thank you! That’s really all I need to say right now.  Thank you! You let us sleep the other night.   Granted you were being a bed hog and almost kicking me out of our bed but you let us sleep.  I don’t care that you were sleeping with us all night.  I just wanted to sleep through the night.   You may have woke up at 1am but we were able to put you right to sleep!

Love,
Daddy

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 19, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Bed-sharing is awesome… and bed-sharing kids tend to grow-up to be more self-assured and less of a worry than non-bed-sharing ones. I say, don’t fight it.

  2. I learned from a French colleague that they had their 1 yr old daughter sleep in a room separate from them and I said “What?”. In our part of the world (Southeast Asia), toddlers usually sleep in in the bed of their parents or have a bed in the room of their parents. Well I was not particurly raised this way as I got a sister who was born after I was one year old. So for me, I prefer that my daughter (2 yrs old) start sleeping on her own bed (at least) but my wife disagrees!

    • I read a book about how other cultures raise their kids and the difference in the ways kids are raised in the US and how if we looked at other cultures and raised our kids like them… we wouldn’t have some of the problems we do with our kids here in the US. I believe it was called “The Happiest Baby On The Block” but i read so many baby books that could be wrong.

  3. The joy of bed sharing (co-sleeping), it is honestly the best for zombie parents. I’ve been doing it with my daughter since she was 3 months old. Baby feels safe and parent gets to sleep. The only complaint that my hubby would have is her kicking him at night. Me? I get to sleep. 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

