Lessons Learned


So there I was, minding my business, ok playing with the chipmunk.  My wife had just finished feeding him and he had about a 15 minute break before I was playing with him.   I had him sitting on my chest bouncing him up and down and out of the blue… spit up all over my chin and neck.   It was only millimeters away from getting in my mouth.

Lesson is… wait atleast 30 minutes before playing rough with your child after eating.

My wife and I went out to go shopping for a bit and she went into a store that I really enjoy people watching… ok make that husband watch (and no not in that way)… it was Ann Taylor.  The reason I like to husband watch is I like to see how other guys react to their wives shopping in this dreaded store that even stepping foot into can make a man lose his man card.   I digress though, we had the chipmunk in his stroller but he was getting fussy since he had been in their for a while.  I took him out and was carrying him around the store.  My wife then goes into to try a few things on and I find the one chair in the store to sit on.  I sat the chipmunk down on my lap and was playing with him.  I end up picking him up and there is a giant wet spot in my lap! Now I know that I don’t have a bladder problem.  Yup, the chipmunk had peed on me in public in an area that would make it look like I peed myself!  Luckily, it was our last store and we were on our way home after that.

Lesson is… don’t play with your child on your lap while out in public.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 16, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. LOL. I completely understand, my lil girl has been spittin up less and less, but I still keep only a few shirts in rotation just because I don’t want to smell like spoiled milk when I’m out and about. As for the other incident, she’s still in newborn diapers and they work great….for now.

  2. Hehe that’s awesome. 🙂 I remember the discovering with my daughter, who’s almost 10 now, that feeding then anything but super-gentle play was not a wise idea. Fun, huh? 🙂

  3. LOL. Nice one. Isn’t he wearing diapers? Well, in some cases when the diaper is full, it gets spilled 🙂

  4. Haha! I think the lesson learned here might be that you need a different brand of diaper… or larger size. I was told when I start finding a lot of exploding diapers it’s time to move up a size and it seems to do the trick.

  5. Wow – cloth diapers! I’m impressed. I don’t think I’d know how to put on one of those! We use our cloth diapers as burp rags and extra cover on the changing table. If you ever make the switch, Amazon Mom has great deals on disposable diapers and they are delivered straight to your door.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

