Can Blogging Make You a Better Parent? | Why I Blog


Can Blogging Make You a Better Parent? | Sharing a Personal Blog About Your Kids.

I read this article on Man of the House and it struck me because I’d been trying to figure out away to talk about why I decided to become a daddy blogger.

Not only to help me have a place where I can vent but also to jot down some of my thoughts and my findings from being a first time dad.  So in the future expect new pictures/videos and better enhancements to the blog. Hope you enjoy!

This quote came from my very first post on what was at the time “The Father In Me.”  Mainly, created a place for me to vent about parenthood and fatherhood.  Mainly, in the beginning it was because I was scared about being a parent.

Instead, this has turned into something that I truly enjoy doing.  I enjoy sharing my joys as a father with my readers.  Yes, I complain a lot about the lack of sleep, we all do, take a look at The Life of Jamie the two of us have gone round and round about how we just wish we could get some sleep.

Another reason I have created this blog, was as something for William to look back at and see all the things that he put his parents through.   Something for him to  see how he grew up and a sort of instruction manual for him when he has kids.   Come to think about it, I don’t know that I would do any of the things that I talk about on here.

I’m not in it for the money, obviously! You don’t see any ads on here.  I like it that way to keep it from being cluttered.  I’ve talked to my wife about wanting to try to make money, but the sheer thought of setting it up is exhausting.  It would need a lot more time and energy then I’m currently spending on this one and well sometimes I feel like I don’t even have a lot of time do work on this blog.

I created this blog because anyone who knows me, I love social media, one of my co-workers yesterday at a Live Shot took a picture of the two of us at the story with his iPhone and jokingly said that I’ll have that picture up on twitter and Facebook faster than he will.   I wanted another way to communicate with people.  I wanted to share stories with people and hear about their similar stories and laugh about them together.   Also to share things that make me a better parent as a whole, like my Make Shift Baby Monitor, trust me it makes my life a lot easier and I hope it makes your easier too!

More than anything, I wanted to do something that would make me an involved father.  By blogging about being a dad, it keeps me involved, and hearing the feedback with other parents makes it even more worth it.  That’s not to say that I am just being involved for the blogging aspect.  By blogging it gives me a sense of responsibility, and in turn, turns me into a better dad.

So to my loyal readers… thank you for reading.  You’re appreciated and I love hearing from you.  To any one who is new to reading my blog… I hope you come back and read more often and can have a laugh or two, I look forward to hearing from you.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Fatherhood, Parenting, Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 93 Comments.

  1. Nice post. Well said, there are many good reasons for having a “daddy blog.” Besides, how can consistent self-reflection on parenting not make one a better parent?

  2. I started blogging for similar reasons. Well, actually, I heard about a co-worker’s wife’s blog so I took a look at it. It never occurred to me that I can blog about being a first-time dad. It was such a monumental event in my life, why not share it. That opened me up to a huge community of dads going through the same ups and downs of fatherhood. I always wanted to be a great father but connecting with other dads (and moms) really helps a guy embrace these uncharted territories of new fatherhood. I really wish I had started when my wife first found out she was pregnant.

  3. A daddy blog. How very novel! I think that doing anything in community, even if it is a social network community, is better than trying to go it alone. Keep writing. It will be a great gift for your son!

  4. I wish my kind of blog fell into a category — like a mommy or daddy blog — but thus far, there’s no nice “box” for post-divorce, embracing reinvention while being sued to have said blog shut down bloggers. Nope, not yet…

    Blogging is an emotional journey. But it is also one on which the blogger does not embark alone — or rather, doesn’t stay alone, as fellow blogging souls reach out, hop on board and follow along. It makes things real to have sometimes silent, sometimes vocal observers provide feedback as your journey continues.

    Keep on blogging — from this post-divorce, embracing reinvention while being sued to have said blog shut down blogger to you … I look forward to catching up on your journey! 😉

    • WOW… yeah blogging is an emotional journey… I can see that your having one… don’t let your blog get shut down. Keep it up… your bloggers are here to support you!

  5. I started a blog as diary for my kids of things I want them to know. I find it hard to make time to actually write in it but I have to agree with you just thinking about what I want to tell them I think is making me a really think about how to be the best parent I can.

    I still wish I had more time to write… how do you do it?

    • It’s very difficult. Since William is so young I can just put him in his exersaucer in my office and blog… and he is perfectly content. Or I do it when he is napping. I also have a very understanding wife who knows how important it is for me to have this blog and continue it. I know that when William is older it will be more difficult to find the time to blog… so I’ll let you know then. HAHA!

  6. I started blogging for similar reasons

  7. Sounds like a good reason to blog to me 🙂 I find blogging to be so lethargic, especially for the more reserved personality types such as myself.

  8. Ah, your blog wil be a great gift for your son! Congrats on being freshly pressed–and hang on for the ride!
    Kathy

  9. This is a really interesting perspective. I blog for different reasons, but I’ve found the community aspect of blogging and the creativity vastly rewarding. Good luck with your adventures and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  10. It is indeed an experience to share with fellow bloggers:) Very nice pictures and thanks for posting your adventures as a dad!

  11. The baby is gorgeous! I think it’s cool though that your child will be able to look back on these posts one day 🙂

    • That is what I am thinking… I know my wife has shot down some of my ideas for the blog because she knows that William won’t want to be embarrassed when he looks back at this blog in 20 years.

      • The Compulsive Writer

        Your always superman to him… Blogging makes you even cooler! 🙂

      • staywellfireyourdoctor

        my parenting blog is on tumblr and I deliberately leave out our names and photos so that I can write about things which could be embarrassing if a teenaged rival or a girl friend or their consitutuents if they go into politics….like my 4 year old’s pants fell down and he tripped over and fell flat at his big brother’s birthday party last Saturday! People laughed, including me. It was all my fault, as I dressed him and forgot his belt. I apologized the next day. Poor thing.

  12. It’s a great way to stay in the moment! Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  13. Congratulations !!! You have a great blog and am glad you are FP for a second time (under a different name of course). I can say I knew you when (and thanks for the shout out).

    By the way- I slept from 10:30-5:45- and then again until 6:30!!! I feel human again! hope you got some sleep too!

    • Awesome! It’s strange last night William slept from 9 to 4:30 am! Meaning daddy and mommy slept from 10:30 – 4:30 and then from 5 to 7! We can handle that.

      Yeah I figured you would enjoy the shout out!

  14. Well, I think you have the makings for a wonderful blogging topic, and I look forward to future posts.

    Symphony
    http://www.harmonyharper.wordpress.com

  15. The process of stopping to reflect and put experiences into coherent words definitely helps us to be better parents. Congrats on being “freshly pressed” and keep up the good work!

    Kathleen
    http://drcuneo.wordpress.com/

  16. Your thoughts are almost exactly the same as mine when I became a dad for the first time. Thanks for sharing and best of luck to you in your journey!

  17. Lovely post. I think that’s we all blog- to connect, to share and to enjoy the journey.

  18. The Compulsive Writer

    Great post! Love the blogs about family and kids. You can’t make this stuff up…and you need to write about it, share it! Fun! Happy parenting!

  19. Great post. Many blessings to you and William on this journey together.
    Keep making those good memories.
    Robert

  20. Beautiful daddy blog. It warms my heart to see a man so involved. I swore I would never ever blog. I found it ridiculous actually. Now I cannot stop. It is therapeutic! Congrats!

  21. I wish I would have started blogging years ago – kids grow up so fast and it’s hard to remember all the cute stories and funny things they do. My kids are now 13, 10, 8 & 8 (twins) and I only started blogging recently. I’m so glad you are blogging so early so that you will have all those memories to pass along to your son. I also have found it makes me feel like a better parent when I write about struggles I have and other comment that they have the same struggles. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone and that hopefully my kids will still turn out OK in spite of my parenting mistakes. 🙂
    Congrats on being FP ! Great job 🙂

    • It is never to late to start blogging. I’m glad to hear that you did thought, even if your kids are alittle older! Even so they’ll be able to look back at this and laugh and cry. Thanks for stopping by!

  22. I think you are an amazing role model for other fathers and mothers keep up the good work!
    http://www.donkeywhisperer.com
    Melody

  23. I believe it, too — not only a better parent, but a better person.

  24. I am also a “daddy” blogger. Except that my blog is based on current events and politics. I tried to post some family stuff, but because of the basic nature of my blog, and the fact that I am critical of the Obama administration, I have attracted some sick people who express a desire to cause problems with my family. So, no more family stuff. I just stick to the news and politics and enjoy making that small little group of nuts crazier than they already are. Be careful with what you post. Your families safety should be priority in your blogs.
    Congrats on FP

    • Yeah I understand the implications of talking about my family on a blog. I try not to dive into to much of our dirty laundry on my blog so that people don’t have a reason to get angry with me. I try and find the humor out of it all in all honesty.

    • In agreement…sadly this is the case for many bloggers. Aliases have helped many who blog about family issues. It’s sad that you can’t express your opinions on your own blog. I mean if people don’t agree with you then they don’t have to visit your blog or read what you right.

  25. Congratulations on being fresh pressed! It is refreshing to see a dad blog! I am a first-time mom, and I hear you when you talk about lack of sleep and all things that come with baby. I find blogging a liberating experience. Through my writing, I find a place to vent, love, and appreciate all the blessings in life. In turn, I realize how wonderful it really is to be a parent.

    Kudoos! Great job as a blogger and as a dad. You are very appreciative of your readers and that comes through in your responses to comments.

    • Thank you! Yes my blog does help me vent alittle in a humorous way… which keeps me sane. Sometimes I wonder what my life would be like without this blog… I would probably let everything stay inside which as we all know is not good!

      I do very much appreciate my readers. Thanks for noticing!

  26. Can blogging make you a better parent? Well if writing about your fears, feelings, failures, successes, joys, sorrows, giggles and squiggles, goofy children shows, diarrhea, diaper blow outs, sleepless nights, teething, drool, the first smile, first step, first boo-boo, first day at school…..and on and on; you will never lack for topics as this journey called parenthood, as you’ve already figured out, is a lifetime gift.
    So yes, blogging about it will make you better at many things…including a better parent because you will be sharing your struggles and joys with others and they will respond like wise. And just think of the great conversations you and your wife will have about what each of you blogged about today and what your readers had to say about it 🙂
    Congratulations on your new blog, new baby and being on Fresh Pressed!

  27. BJ ~
    First … thanks for finding our post at Man of the House, and second, finding it compelling enough to want to write about it yourself.

    The reason why we started Man of the House is to provide men and fathers with the necessary tools navigating our way through parenthood. Obviously it isn’t anything shocking that parenting and fatherhood looks drastically different than it did a generation ago. I applaud your work on your blog and will certainly make it part of my reading from here on out. I look at blogging no differently than the journal I used to keep tracking my thoughts and observations – only now I’m willing to share it out in the open.

    Again, thanks for writing your post.

  28. I’ll have to take note of your blog! I started my blog for the same reason – 1st time mom of a 5 1/2 month old here. Lack of sleep has been a reoccurring theme in my posts too…

  29. Being able to vent anywhere will make you a better parent. That way, you won’t blow up at the kidlets.

    Congratulations on being FP!

  30. I’m a new dad, as of Feb 28, however my girlfriend decided to blog from day 1 of her finding out she was pregnant, so in an effort not to be redundant I decided to post my daddy stuff on her blog. I”ve been reading through your posts and now I’m relating to everything you’re saying….especially the “make shift baby monitor” because we literally just used ours for the first time today.

    Keep up the good blogging.

  31. Blogging is an open forum diary that has been wedged deeply between your Posturepedic awaiting discovery when your parent changes the sheets.

    Great Post!

    spread the humor:charlywalker.wordpress.com

  32. There’s no question that there’s an “addictive” edge to blogging – and better than anything – the community of readers and writers that forms is a surprising side benefit.

    I wish there were more dads blogging about their experiences and feelings. The dialogue is part of the pleasure, and the learning process.

  33. Loved your Diaper Dude post and the sincerity amidst the humor . Not to mention that having a Dad perspective is refreshing. Blog, baby, blog !

  34. I enjoyed reading this post as well as your blog. : ) I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

  35. I have been thinking about posting on this same issue since most of my “mommy” and non-mommy friends keep asking me why I blog. For me, at first I thought my blog would be a place where I vent about the frustrations of motherhood and turns out instead the benefit has been that I have a sort of “mirror” to my life in which I can see the positive – instead of negative – aspects of parenthood and having a family. It’s a great ride isn’t it? Even on the days you wish you could jump off! Happy blogging 🙂

    The Outlaw Mom

  36. Tweeting is making a better writer of me, so I don’t see why blogging could be bad for parenting!

    Not the same thing? Oh, right. 😉

    Kidding aside, I do agree with Jeff Silvey above that opportunities taken to reflect are opportunities to become a better parent seized!

  37. oh your baby it’s so cute

  38. Thanks…. I wouldn’t want to go about being a parent alone… sure Mom is here but even then it’s difficult even with two people sometimes as rookie parents

  39. Being able to vent anywhere will make you a better parent. That way, you won’t blow up at the kidlets.

    Congratulations on being FP!

  40. a fortunate father!!! I think it is a good experience for everyone to come across this, take good care of your kids. Love your post

  41. This is one beautiful article. I really support this. I will also tweet this for you, and hope it will bring you more visitors. People should read this.

  42. and hopefully you spell better than me.
    Correction: “…read what you write”

  43. I enjoyed reading your blog BJ. Congrats on getting pressed. I bet William will also be congratulating you in years to come 😉

  44. nice blog! congratulations! I’m a daddy blogger too. When I started my blog a few years ago, I was actually thinking of the same thing. But due to time constraint I wasn’t able to maintain it. too bad.

    anyway, hope I can visit your blog more often!

  45. realanonymousgirl2011

    How wonderful. I should blog more about my daughter. BTW, cute kid!

  46. This is a good article

  47. Daddy blogging is a great idea and I have now subscribed. My wife is expecting our second child in July and I have been writing a weekly series called ‘Pregnancy – The Daddy’s View’, within my blog Tales From Yorkshire, since we found out the news in November. I wish I had done the same with our first born but there was so much to do at the time. This time around we are both far more organised and relaxed.

  48. I’ll have to take note of your blog! I started my blog for the same reason – 1st time mom of a 5 1/2 month old here
    http://www.officeonlinegames.com

  49. I like your reasons for keeping a blog about being a dad. I know free time is scarce and energy is low for a dad of an infant. Great for you to find the time/energy to keep a “daddy blog.” I bet in time, you’ll look back and read the blog posts and be thankful that you did. There’s so much that happens in the first year, and as a parent, I was pretty foggy to remember much of it. I’m a dad of twin girls, and they’re in elementary school now. I took a lot of photos early on, and these help jog my memories. Your blog will be great for remembering these times. Keep it up!

  50. I really like the idea of this blog. Impressive

  51. Good to see other new dads around. We’ve had ours for 13 months now, and it’s a constant shift as to what will come next. Our son just started walking, and now we have that thrill of excitement, which will no doubt be followed by constant panic as he tries to bring furniture down on himself.

    Great post, and a cool idea.

  52. Nice blog. I too wish I’d started blogging sooner, when pregnant with my first. Good luck with it – parenthood is an amazing journey, first and subsequent times.

    http://whenyouarethatwoman. blogspot.com

  53. I love your blog so much! 🙂 keep it on brother!!

  54. Congratulations!

    It is so interesting for me because I don’t know any daddy, who can write about his baby and share it with others.

    I am from Kazakhstan and our “fathers” not so sentimental :)))

    Warm regards,
    Aizhan

  55. I get it. I blog for a similar reason, it goes by way too fast and things you think you’ll remember–not so much sometimes!

    Enjoy the adventure!
    Keri

  56. I think having a daddy blog is fantastic! Now a days you hear about all the negative stuff associated with men not being there for their children and I think it’s GREAT to hear some positive aspects of being a daddy! Great idea!

  57. You are right about creating a place to vent 🙂 I watched Mad Men recently, and my husband and I were discussing how much parenting changed! The guys (not that it was necessarily real and true for each and every household) hardly saw those kids! Kids were happy if their dad exchanges a phrase or two with them in between drinks…Now, I do not think a dad would go away with the attitude like that.
    Glorious days… 🙂

  58. Nice blog. I have just started blogging too, I am doing it just to write down what happens to me daily and hopefully find new tips on how to raise my kids in a better way.
    Keep going and happy blogging.

  59. Great review! You actually touched some valuable things here. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the site, it’s very great 🙂

  60. thanks for post . . . i really like i t

  61. I started blogging for a few reasons, but the primary one was to have a place where I could journal my thoughts, keep them neat and organized, and be able to do it anywhere. There are so many thoughts that move through my head too quickly that I forget some of the things I was thinking about later. Now I can jot down a quick note in my phone and visit it later to expand upon.

    I’ve always been bad at writing in journals or diaries, but now I feel a little pressure to write more frequently because other people may be reading what I write. In the end, it’s all for me, but I’m allowed to share aren’t I?

    • I have been bad about journals also. I actually bought a journal for this blog so that I wouldn’t always been on my phone typing something down to remember… rather I could just jot it down in the journal and well that hasn’t worked out so well either.

      I didn’t think people would find the things that I write interesting but it’s amazing how many people are going through the same thing as you!

  62. This is exactly why I started blogging too! It is so refreshing to find others out there who are experiencing much the same things as me. I love social media, and this is one more I enjoy. Keep up the good work!

    • Thank you! Like I mentioned in the post… I am a social media addict. I always have my phone in my hand, tweeting, facebooking, or reading my Google Reader. But I gotta say that one thing I enjoy the most besides chatting it up during severe weather here in the midwest on Twitter, is blogging!

  63. This is a really interesting perspective. I blog for different reasons, but I’ve found the community aspect of blogging and the creativity vastly rewarding. Good luck with your adventures and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  64. Nice post. Well said, there are many good reasons for having a “daddy blog.” Besides, how can consistent self-reflection on parenting not make one a better parent?

  65. Nice blog. I too wish I’d started blogging sooner, when pregnant with my first. Good luck with it – parenthood is an amazing journey, first and subsequent times.

  66. I started blogging for similar reasons. Well, actually, I heard about a co-worker’s wife’s blog so I took a look at it. It never occurred to me that I can blog about being a first-time dad. It was such a monumental event in my life, why not share it. That opened me up to a huge community of dads going through the same ups and downs of fatherhood. I always wanted to be a great father but connecting with other dads (and moms) really helps a guy embrace these uncharted territories of new fatherhood. I really wish I had started when my wife first found out she was pregnant.

    • Yeah I wish I had started as soon as I found out she was pregnant too! You are right, blogging about being a first-time dad opens up a whole community of people going through the same process… you even though your wife is right there along with you, you never feel alone and can find someone that has probably gone through the same thing as you.

  67. Congratulations on the blog. It is quite cathartic and informative. I work with teens, young adults and their families and wish that they had this type of chronicle of their lives – ups and downs. I can’t wait to keep reading about your journey.

  68. I have been bad about journals also. I actually bought a journal for this blog so that I wouldn’t always been on my phone typing something down to remember… rather I could just jot it down in the journal and well that hasn’t worked out so well either.

    I didn’t think people would find the things that I write interesting but it’s amazing how many people are going through the same thing as you!

  69. Nice post!
    I recently started blogging about my life and family and was surprised at how much I love it. It’s a great place to vent, share my joy’s, sorrow’s and just the random stuff that everyday life is made of. Even if my audience is tiny it’s nice to have another creative outlet.
    Keep up the good work.

    Stephanie @ hugskissesandsnot.wordpress.com

  70. Welcome to the world of Dads. I am a Dad of a 5 and an 8 year old. I haven’t seen the connection btw being a Dad and blogging yet, except that they both help me relax. Anyways, great post, Dad!

    • The only connection I have seen, and it is probably just me, is that it helps me find some humor out of being a dad and helps me stay connected so that I have something to blog about all the time!

  1. Pingback: Can Blogging Make You a Better Parent? | Why I Blog (via The Rookie Dad) | day-to-day-notes

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

