Make Shift Baby Monitor


The other day I was trying to figure out a way I could go out and mow the lawn and be able to listen to our baby monitor (it doesn’t have a headphone jack for me to listen to it) at the same time since the chipmunk was sleeping.  Well it didn’t occur to me till later of a way to do that.  Use Skype!

I already had a Skype account so that we could talk to my sister in Russia so I just simply created another account to use on one of my smart phones.  I just happen to have two of them, my personal iPhone and then a work Droid.

I turned Skype on both of the phones logged in on one account on one phone and then the other on my other phone.

Called one of the accounts and bam it worked!   Now I’ll be able to just put the headphones on and take my iPhone out with me while I do lawn work outside and still be able to “monitor” the chipmunk.

My advice is turn the wireless on both phones if you have wireless internet so you’re not using up a bunch of data.

This will also work if you have an iPod touch just install Skype and turn on the wireless.  Then call the other Skype account.    You can also monitor the baby via a computer if your home office has too much interference from all the wireless devices for the baby monitor to work.

This was a moment when I really geek’d out.   But in all honesty a smart idea if you need to do things outside and have the ability.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 9, 2011, in Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Nice. Maybe you should change your name to The MacGuyver Dad.

  2. What a genius idea! I just got a Skype account a few weeks ago.

  3. I wish I’d thought of that when my 2-year-old was a baby. Would have made life a lot simpler. Our baby monitor’s battery pooped out on us a couple months in, so we had to always use the adapter. Using Skype while I was writing in my office would have saved a lot of irritation trying to reach between stacks of stuff to plug in the adapter, then balance the monitor on a pile of what-not. I’ll certainly pass along your suggestion to all the moms and dads I know. Thanks for being a geek. 🙂

  4. Downloading Skype on my Blackberry now! Thanks

  1. Pingback: Can Blogging Make You a Better Parent? | Why I Blog | The Rookie Dad

  2. Pingback: The Night I Ended Up On The Couch! | The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

