Just Sleep Already!


Dear William,

I’m not sure what your thoughts about sleep are.  I know that you love taking your afternoon nap and I enjoy that too, it helps me get some things done that need to get done.  But, last night I hit a tipping point.

You woke up an hour and half after I went to sleep!  You were so upset that even after the first feeding you weren’t happy.  Finally, I was able to get you to go back to sleep but you woke up an hour and half after that wanting more food and a diaper change.   You were at one point on a schedule were you would wake up at 2:30 and then go back down until 8 or 9.  What happened to that? That was so nice and made for a much more happy dad.

You’ve made coffee a precious commodity here at this house.  There isn’t a day that goes by where I don’t have a cup of coffee to wake up and to make it through the day.  Someday, you will learn how much I like coffee.

I say this however in frustration from last night.   No matter what though I will always love you and take care of you.  I’m looking forward to the time you start crawling.  You are almost there!  You are getting so big eating baby food.  You didn’t like pea’s but neither does your mom!

I can’t stay mad at you for long.  Your sitting here playing in our exersaucer screaming in delight as you are playing with your toys.   It makes daddy happy to see you look up at the TV and watch baseball now and then, that makes daddy a happy camper!

Love,
Your Dad

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Letters To the Kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Let me know how this works out for you…I have written several letters to my daughter on the same subject and not one has worked yet, and she’s 22 months old.

    On a serious note- is he teething or just a pain in the ass? My daughter is a pain in the ass.

    • Well I think he was just being a pain in the ass last night. I think we already went through the teething phase but there isn’t any teeth showing up. There were many restless nights during that time as he would wake up ever hour on the hour screaming bloody murder. So last night was probably a pain in the ass and he is usually like this once a week… typically on the nights that I am on-call.

      Maybe he will see this letter in about a couple years and let us sleep! HAHA!

  2. easylifestyles

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family and doing fun activities is something that truly makes me happy.

    Check out these Family Activities

  3. Let me know if you ever find just the right letter to get him to sleep all night long. My son is almost three and he still enjoys a 1:00am bed-jumping and a 4:00am scream-until-mommy-finally-gets-up. But, you’re right, we just can’t stay mad at them long. Especially once we have had a chance to sip our morning coffee. Oh how I am grateful for coffee!

    • I will say he made it up by taking two, two hour naps. Which allowed me some piece and quite. As long as he takes longer naps during the day it makes my day much more pleasant which makes him much more pleasant and fun to be around!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

