I Love You, Man! Challenge


The other night my lovely wife and I were out on a date (gotta love sitting at the bar at Olive Garden for a date) and she issued me a challenge.   I’m calling it, appropriately, I Love You, Man Challenge, coming from my previous post where I was wondering how do you make friends after college.

The challenge is to make atleast one guy friend by the end summer that I can go to baseball games, go fishing, hang out with, and have my guy time.   If my wife is telling me to make friends then I obviously need to!  I again beg the question how do guys make friends after college that are not co-workers?

I intend to watch the movie over again this week for some pointers and tips on how to make guy friends.   Oh and wordpress community your tips and pointers would be appreciated too, tried and blogged about! So your help in crucial in this challenge.

My favorite I Love You, Man quote “Slapping the bass! Slappa da bass! Slappa da bass mon! Slappa de bass mon!”

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I wish I could help. Yes, things are different after high school and college, and it is more difficult to make friends. Everyone is busy with jobs and kids, and it’s just harder to find people that you have things in common with. Moving away from your home town doesn’t help, which I did. If you get any super-cool pointers, let me know!

    • Yeah I moved away from all of my college buddies and into a brand new town where I knew no one so it made it even more difficult. The one good guy friend that I had ended up moving to California. So I’m hoping that this will help me if not find a good friend, meet people!

  2. Maybe you should go to a Rush concert, or to Happy Hour? Maybe get a 6 foot sub? I love that movie! I say at the gym. Men make friends at the gym, right? Or one of your wife’s friend’s husbands. I don’t envy you having to be in the “dating pool!” 🙂

    • I do love Rush! I do like happy hours! and I do like a 6 foot sub! I would say at the gym but I don’t have a membership anywhere… can’t really justify the expense. I thought you said my wife’s husband friends! And then when I saw dating pool I was like wait what? HAHA i read that completely different until i read it a second time!

  3. Just found your blog, I love that movie man. Gonna watch it later. Just of the top of my head, try the gym (like others said), guys on your daily commute if you use public transportation, maybe a little twitter meet up, dads at your kids games, your mechanic (always good to have him in your corner). Good luck, I think I need to take up this challenge too.

    • I like the idea of the twitter meet up. I’m going to have to try that.

      Good to hear that someone else might try the challenge too! My wife likes that she came up with the idea and others could do it too!

  4. It’s really not so hard to do, though I understand if you are out of the habit of trying to make new friends.

    Buddies of the kind you wrote about are guys who have an interest in common like sports, movies or any subject area. Go where men who share your interests would go, and introduce yourself to ones you like. Whether that’s to games, bars, karaoke, concerts, classes, charitable or volunteer activities, it’s more efficient than going to general public spaces like car washes or the grocery store. Whatever you are into, there will be some sort of club, organization or gathering place for like-minded individuals. Get involved in learning more about your areas of interest.

    • Honestly, this is the best advice I’ve gotten yet! It all makes since really, and when you are out of the game (wow sounds like I want to pick up chicks) of making friends its difficult to make friends because you don’t really know where to look.

  5. Wow! My husband is 55 years old and is in the same boat! (I sing with a womens chorus, so I have built in friends…almost constantly!) He wishes he had someone to get a beer with, just hang out with in general. This must be a universal problem with men. Is it harder for men to make the initial step and say, “Hey come have a beer with me”?

    • Yes, yes it is. I think most guys when you ask to hang out think you swing for the other fence. And that is my problem I want to hang out with other guys but don’t want it to sound like that. So who knows we will see how this challenge goes.

  6. I’m totally agreeing with you – making friends beyond school is /hard/. I’ve recently cut people out of my life, actually, because they’re not the kind of people I really want to be like, and I wouldn’t want them around my kids. Add to that some Aspergers and yep! No clue how to make friends – so if you figure out the magic formula, let us know! 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

