Spreading the Sickness


I am not one to get sick very often.  My wife tells me that I have the immune system that most people would love to have.  Well I can kiss that good-bye now.

Two weeks ago the chipmunk wasn’t feeling all that great.  Some people wonder how you know if a baby isn’t feeling good, well you can just tell because they aren’t acting like they used to.  He wasn’t laughing, smiling, cooing like he used to.   We thought he had a cold since he was congested and wouldn’t sleep but 3 hours at a time.   Fast forward a week and guess who is sick.  That’s right the guy who very rarely gets sick.    This hit me hard too!  I have never experienced the congestion that I had during that time and the muscle aches, ugh it just sucked.

Well then towards the end of last week the chipmunk went through a 24 hour period of throwing up.   Guess who got that on Tuesday? ME!  Luckily, for me it only lasted about 6 hours and then I was over it.   Woke up the next day like nothing had ever happened.   That then spread to my wife the next day!

I knew kids were a germ factory, but I didn’t think that it would effect me that much.   I mean the cold that the chipmunk had given me last week almost put me out of commission for a few days.   There are times where I do get just a few symptoms but nothing that would make me want to stay on a couch and watch tv all day.   Here’s to getting sick more often I guess!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

