The Date


Ahhh finally! The wife and I decided to take a date.  Just the two of us.  Mainly because I have to work Valentines day and we wouldn’t have any time to do go on a date then.

We decided to pack up the chipmunk and take him to a friends house that would watch him while we do our thing, our dinner, not that thing.  For me it is always difficult to let someone else watch our little guy without giving to many instructions on how to take care of him and what to do in certain situations.  I have to really bite my tongue so that I’m not to controlling.  Before you ask, yes it is even difficult to not tell our sitter how to take care of him and she sees him alot.

I can’t tell you how nice it was to not have to lug around the baby carrier and have to be on his schedule.  We were able to go out and pick each others Valentines day gift.  The wife got me a lovely watch, which not to sound like I’m sucking up but I do really like it and has come in handy already.  Then we went off to get her gift which was using my upgrade at AT&T to get her an iPhone (to make a long story short she dropped hers into a cup of water rendering it unusable and she is back to her blackberry now).  Which AT&T thought it was weird that we were “upgrading” phone to the same phone.  But you know what I was getting something my wife wanted.

Then we went to dinner, had horrible service, but great conversation.  We discussed things that we don’t have time to talk about like our finance (what to do with our tax refund), things we want to do with the chipmunk, places we would like to go and see, and things we would like to do.    I can’t tell you how nice it was to have a conversation with my wife without being distracted by the chipmunk… basically just looking into his carrier and smiling at him while he sleeps.

We’ve decided to try and make this date night a monthly thing.  Mainly to keep the romance alive in our relationship (not that it was lacking in the first place) and mainly to have some time to just ourselves.  It’s very difficult to find time to just ourselves now that we have the chipmunk.  We expected that however, but something tells me that it will be even more difficult to find that time to ourselves as he gets older.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 13, 2011, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. glad you were able to get out! As a person with two kids- I recommend that you make it more than once a month. You should try for twice. Start hitting your friends up for their babysitters…you won’t be disappointed!

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

