Burn-out


The other day I hit a point where I was so frustrated that I snapped.  I can’t believe I did the thing that I did but I did it and there is no turning back.

 

I'm sorry daddy!

I yelled at the Chipmunk.  He was so fussy I didn’t know what was going on.  Nothing would consol him.  I tried feeding him, changing his diaper, giving him gas drops thinking he had an upset stomach.  I didn’t know what the hell was going on.   I was so upset and frustrated that I stood him up on my lap and yelled “WHAT DO YOU WANT?”  I totally regret it.   I can’t believe that I was so upset that it came to that point.  I didn’t know what was wrong, I had done everything I thought would work, to no avail.  I tried putting him to sleep he wouldn’t even do that.  All I wanted was some me time.  Some time to just wind down, gather my thoughts, listen and get lots in some music.  Is that all to much to ask?   I guess when your dealing with a 3 month old it is.   I know that right now I’m probably sounding bitter, very bitter, but I’m not.  It was one night where I had been up all day and I was exhausted.

What made it even more hilarious (if you can find this funny) is that after yelling at the poor chipmunk he smiled and made it all better.  I couldn’t stay mad at him.   I love the guy way to much to be mad at him.  Just like my wife I can’t stay mad at her for more then 5 minutes. But as soon as my wife had come home from her “Spanish Class” she took him from me and he went right to sleep.  What is it that she has that I don’t that can put him right to sleep? Oh thats right boobs!  My mom gave me the trick of putting a towel on my chest to imitate “boobs” and that might put the chipmunk to sleep… I should try that sometime!

How do other dad’s deal with it when your the only one taking care of your inconsolable baby?

 

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on February 10, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. if it makes you feel any better, I yell at my kids ALL THE TIME. sometimes you need that release! I yelled at my daughter a lot because she was a complete pain in the ass for the first 20 months of her life (and she is 20 months old- I just figured her out three days ago!)

  2. I can truly relate to your frustration. With 9 month of old triplets and a 5 year old I find myself going insane on moments when my wife is not at home. As mean as it sounds that are times when you need to walk away for 30 seconds. It is hard because the babies are still crying but you are not good them if you are still frustrated. Those 30 seconds can change everything. Good luck!

    • I couldn’t even imagine with triplets! I just wish that they could tell us what is wrong so that we don’t have to guess, is it a diaper, food, or other issue. Maybe I should cherise this time because soon he will be walking and talking and off to college, then it’s all over with.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. Oh have I been there, done that. I still find myself yelling at my kids. No one is perfect and add sleep deprivation to the mix, well, you’ll have your “moments” of sheer frustration. When my son was a baby he had severe colic, reflux and it was all I could do to remain calm sometimes. I’d go into another room, close the door and yell into a pillow. Very normal feelings to have, just need to find a safe way to get it out.

    • Thanks for relating! I can’t tell you how tired I’ve been lately mostly because of him waking up between 4:30 and 5 every morning and then waking up again around 8am and not going back to sleep! It was pretty much all I could do at the moment to make myself feel better. He did however smile right after I yelled at him and that made me feel better, not that I yelled at him, but knowing that things would be better.

      Thanks for reading!

  4. trying to cool down before you get crazy is a good idea. i yell, too, when i get too wound up. at that young age (my youngest is 21 months), i found that showing the kid something i was absolutely sure they’d never ever seen before sometimes worked to snap them out of the carrying on. i’m a big believer in the “snap ’em out of it” thing. like stick a bag of frozen peas under their shirt for a millisecond. get them to do the “what just happened?”

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

