Alittle Bragging


Alright, I don’t like bragging to much (unless it’s with my wife when I was right and she was wrong which is rare), but today I have got to.

The chipmunk has started laughing!  He first did it with mom about 2 weeks ago and then again about a week later when we were both there and heard it.   Ever since for about a week he has been letting out alittle laugh everyday.   But yesterday after we went out for a walk (it was 50 degrees here and the road crews were prepping the roads for a snow storm) I sat him up on his bumbo chair on our guest bed so that I could get a few things done on the computer.  Every now and then I would look over at him he would smile really big.  But then I looked over and as I was crawling towards him just having some fun with him.  He smiled and then laughed… it wasn’t just a short giggle this was a laugh!  My dad instinct came in and immediately went for the video camera since mom was still at work, I knew she would want to see this!  Hopefully, I will be able to move this quickly for the camera when he starts to crawl and walk!  This is what happened…

I remember talking about when you have a child it seems to bring out the child in you, as you can see in this video my inner child was brought out.   I started acting goofy, doing anything I could to get him to laugh.   It was fun!  Oh the things that you do to make your child happy!

For those of you on twitter, I have created a twitter account specifically for this blog, the handle is @therookiedad
About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 29, 2011, in Fatherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. one of the best moments of baby-dom! Cuteness abounds 🙂

  2. oh yes … and more to come. Little ones are an endless source of joy and fascination. Glad you are enjoying parenthood. It is, by far, the most rewarding yet sometimes heartbreaking role ever given to me. 🙂

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

