My Inner Child


Something I have learned being a dad is that despite having to grow up very quickly, you show your inner child alot. I will give Saturday night as an example.

The Chipmunk

My wife and and I went out with the little chipmunk (i’m going to start calling him that because if you look at his cheeks he looks like a chipmunk) to the furniture store to look at a couple of things.   The Chipmunk was doing great he was just looking around at all the lights and listening to all the people that were out shopping.  So after we were done talking to the salesman about what we really went there for,  I decided I wanted to look at one more thing that I would eventually like to get for us.   We had one more stop to make and the Chipmunk was starting to get alittle fussy.  As soon as I heard his first wale, I decided alright lets go.   We head off to our second stop, the dreaded Wal-mart.  What is it about Wal-Mart and Walgreens that the moment you walk in makes you just want to steal something?  You walk in and say to yourself  “Alright this stuff is cheap how can I get out of here with it for free!”  I’m joking of course.

The Chipmunk was starting to get alittle more fussy so what mode do I step in? No it wasn’t “Alright lets hurry this up so we can get the hell out of here with out a major catastrophe!” I decided to step in “Let’s make him happy so we have the time that we need”  So for some strange reason I start talking to him in a low almost Cookie Monster meets Fat Albert voice.  He LOVED it!  The smile on his face said everything!   We were good to take our time after that because the Chipmunk at that moment in time didn’t want anything more then daddy to talk in this funny voice.

This continued when we got home and it morphed into Fat Albert’s “Hey Hey Hey” and I’m going to just let the video speak for itself.

Up until this point I don’t think he has smiled like this for just about anything without getting upset in about 5 minutes.  I will say that this is probably our favorite video that we have of the Chipmunk!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 24, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

