The Butterfly Effect


I’ll start out by saying this was a disaster waiting to happen.

Mommy's Snow Day

Before I get to what happened the background info. Everyone here in the Midwest knows how much snow we had received, close to 8 inches all in a matter of 6 hours. That basically is enough to shut down an entire metro like Kansas City, shutting businesses and schools all over the place. This massive snOMG (according to the twitter hashtag) started on Wednesday afternoon and went into the night so I was a shut in basically for all day Wednesday. My wife then had Thursday off of school and so we didn’t go anywhere that day either.

Thursday afternoon we started running low on formula. It wasn’t quite panic mode because we knew we had enough to get through Friday night. So Friday afternoon I decided to venture out and get formula at the Target.

I pack my diaper bag… Diapers, check…. Change of clothes, check… Toys, check… Bottle, check… Baby, check… I continue to go down the list and proceed to get most everything.

I emailed my wife as I was leaving and asked if she needed anything, she said no but I could come up and visit her in her classroom since her students would love to see William. But first my Target trip.

William woke up on our way into Target and he was just hanging out in his car seat in the shopping cart. He was making funny faces but nothing out of the ordinary so I didn’t think anything about it. I check out and everything is good.

I stop by my wife’s classroom and her students are having a blast with William. She then goes on her plan period so we took him to the secretary’s who really wanted to see him. One of them is holding him for a while as we are in the office talking. William proceeds to give her alittle present. This only seems to happen to women. I am amazed he hasn’t provided me or another man this present. But I digress. Luckily, I had packed my diaper bag and was ready for a situation like this. We go back to her classroom and strip him down and I am getting ready for the change when I discover one very important item is missing.   In a situation where William had this type of blow out this was the one thing I did not want to forget.

WIPES!!!!

Yup, I totally forgot the wipes at home. Now, I would get in trouble if I forgot to mention that my wife had bought me a travel sized container of wipes specifically for my diaper bag a week ago. Why I hadn’t put them in my bag yet, hell if I know. Panic mode sets in.  What do we do?  We resort to using paper towels.  It didn’t do the job well but good enough for me to get him back home to clean him up better.  But he wasn’t done there.  It had been a while since I had fed him last so we fed him before I left.   I should have seen this coming because William always does this when he eats.  He grunts, gets stiff, and the thunder from down under!  Sure I had another diaper to change him right there but again no WIPES! So we decided to let him finish eating and I hurried out of the building so I could get him home to clean him up.  Luckily with this poo, he didn’t go through his new outfit.

The Daddy Diaper Bag Checklist

What seems to amaze me is that I proceeded to pack everything that I needed for this trip, or so I thought.  My diaper bag even has a list of things that I need to take with me! But did check off number 2 on this list, NO!  Had we not had that snow storm, Liz have a snow day, me needing to get out of the house, and us needing formula this whole thing would have never happened.

Well my lesson is learned… remember wipes! Better yet just check the damn checklist before leaving!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 22, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

