Part-time Stay At Home Dad


Well the time has hit where I’m now the primary care giver to my child.  I’m home now Wednesday’s – Friday’s and get to take care of him during those days.  Let’s just say that I love it.  I love being home with William and taking care of him… no matter how hard the challenge is.  The challenge right now is taking care of him one handed since my other arm is healing from an accident.   But I’m up to the challenge.

So far William has been nothing but great during the time that I’ve had him.  His diapers on the other hand… let’s not talk about them. HAHA!   I have got to say that I am truly enjoying the time that I am spending with William.  I can’t wait until I’m back to 100% and can crawl around on the floor with him.  I can get down on his level now but I can’t do much interaction with him.   I love seeing him smile when we are playing together and know that I am making him happy.

It’s very strange having such an influence over this guys life.   Between my interactions with him, reading him books, playing with him, and taking our naps together I wouldn’t trade being a dad for anything else.

I’m sure more stories will come.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on January 10, 2011, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

