Me Time


I’ve realized over the last couple days that this fatherhood thing is alot harder then first thought it would be.  Between juggling work, baby, and being a husband you don’t have any me time.  I usually get home from work and straight to either comforting the little one or right to sleep to all just wake up and do it all again the next day.  But I now have a day off and I have just put William down for a nap, and my me time has come.

The times its all worth it!

I begged my friends on facebook and twitter the other day to help me find my sleep. I even went as far as to offer a cash reward to anyone who could help me find it.  Someone suggested finding it in the bottom of a bottle of scotch.  I’m going to try that someday!  But seriously, sometimes before William was around you wonder how you operated on just 5 hours of sleep, now I can say that coffee is my friend and I would beg for 5 hours of sleep.    Now this maybe the rookie dad coming out in me but many people say it doesn’t get better as time goes on.  I wonder how true that is.  Once they start sleeping through the night doesn’t sleep for you get better?

As much as I complain about the things that I’m not getting since William has been here I still feel like this is all worth it.  The other night I came home from work and I held him and he fell asleep right in my arms.   That makes it all better.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on December 1, 2010, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It does it better it just might be 2-3 years. And by then you might be ready for baby #2 and it will start all over again.

  2. He is just adorable! I love it when they throw their little fists up victoriously in their sleep. That little victory fist pumps means he has won- you aren’t sleeping and he is! I am just finally starting to get sleep 3-4 nights a week and my kids are almost 1 and 2. With my son, I got a solid 8-9 hours a night, with my daughter I am lucky to get 3 in a row! I hope you have a better sleeper! Wait until you walk into a wall…that always hurts in the middle of the night (or in the daytime as was my case!)

  3. It does get better.

    I can relate, totally. I used to feel like I lived and breathed soely to service my child. And I pretty much did. And my wife was doing it too, but we still had almost no time to ourselves (both as a couple and individually). Once we could rely on our son sleeping through the nights pretty reliably then I’d take my me time after hours. Baby’s down for the night, wife is crashing out too. It’s time for some Xbox! …or PVR…or checking e-mail…or whatever I had been depriving myself of that week.

    When baby was still only sleeping 2-3 hours at a time it was rough though. On weekends and holidays we’d do shifts, I’d stay up through the night and respond to any wake ups and then I’d sleep all morning from the early morning feed onwards to about noon. Then we’d tag team it for the afternoon.

    Doesn’t work so good once we had to go back to work, though.

    Now he’s four and sleeps really well. But he has a wierd ability to sleep in on weekdays but wake up at 5 AM on weekends. A bit of pain, that habit…

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

