The Night Away


The other night we had family in town to see the first grandchild on my side of the family.   As an escape my dad and I went to a high school football game since my former high school was in the state playoffs and they were playing close by.  I go through my normal routine of kissing my son and wife.  This was the first time in my child’s week long life that I would be away from him for longer then an hour.  Kind of a strange feeling but I knew he was in good hands with his grandma and his mom there.

When we come back it is about time to put William to sleep and come to find out all he wanted was me around to help him sleep.  My wife finished feeding him and he still wouldn’t stop crying… he didn’t need a diaper change either.  So I went over and held him and he was instantly quiet.  It was almost like him telling me he didn’t like me being away for a long period of time.  I didn’t want to… I’d love to be a stay-at-home dad but that isn’t possible right now.

It’s really strange to think that I will not always be around to see this guy grow up and that it isn’t going to be my full time job to be there every second of his early life, I don’t want to go back to work (I love my job though)… is there a job out there where I can get paid to be  a stay-at-home dad and always be there for him?  As a father I want to be… I want to be involved as much as I can be.  I guess you can say that since I have seen my DVR fill up that I have been more occupied with him then some of the other things I have enjoyed.  I know that I am enjoying him more and will continue the enjoyment of raising him into a man.

I’m looking forward to the days that I can play baseball with him in the backyard or shooting hoops on the driveway.   I’m looking forward to going to his first ball game and cheering him on or coaching him!  I’m looking forward to everything… even when I got pee’d on the other day… I was looking forward to that.  Bring it on!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 17, 2010, in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Aww.. That’s really sweet. It’s nice to see daddies blogging. 🙂

  2. Love your blog mate, real honest stuff. Congrats on William, I’m a new-ish Dad myself and can empathise totally!

    Regards

    Brandon

  3. Great post. Like a page torn out of my own thoughts.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

