November 8th, 2010 D-Day


November 7th, 2010… the day started differently then most.

I had to be at work at 6:30am which is normal but when I woke up at 5am something was telling me to call in sick, that was what was different.  I had never had the urge to call in sick as much as I did that day.   But I went into work anyway.  Did the morning live shots and then we were told we are going on a story outside of the metro area.  Now I requested, since about the middle of October to be kept close to the city so that I can make it to the hospital.  But when they told me where we were going I was ok with that since it was only 10 minutes from the hospital we were delivering at.   So we head on down to our story… I wasn’t expecting a phone since I was very close to the hospital and well that phone call did not come! Of course right? We head back to the tv station and I get my video into our system.  I had recieved a couple other text messages from my wife earlier that day asking me different things that I hadn’t had chance to answer yet.  So when she called me I said myself “what does she want now.”  That should have been my first sign that something was going on.  My second sign was when I answered the phone and she said “My water just broke.” The planning and the waiting and our go plan all needed to take place.  Luckily I was at a stopping point at work so I was able to head right out the door.  I get home to pick up the wife and pack a few more things that needed to be packed and head to the hospital. This is were things get alittle strange.

Nov. 7th, 2010 – 1:45pm – When we arrive at the hospital they first do a check to make sure that her water did break.  It came back positive so we decided to batten down the hatches.  It’s shift change time at the hospital. New set of nurses come in and check to make sure that her water did break and the test came back… negative.  WHAT!!!  Her contractions were running anywhere between 3 – 5 minutes apart and there was talk about sending us home.  The doctor ordered us to walk around for an hour to see if we can get the water to break.  As we walk around the contractions come closer together to about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes apart.  As we were walking our conversation was if they do send us home how do we know when to go the hospital.  Her contractions were running so close together that when your told in birth classes to come when they are 5-7 minutes come to the hospital or if her water broke… and according to the two of us she had all those symptoms but to the hospital all they were seeing was the contractions and they weren’t getting stronger.  When we came back from walking they checked again and her water still hadn’t broke.  Then the doctor ordered us to just stay and get this started.  They gave her the meds to get started and her contractions were getting stronger she called for some pain meds but not the epidural so that it doesn’t prolong labor.  In between the time the meds started working and stopped her water broke.  But as soon as those pain meds wear out the contractions are so strong she needed to call for the epidural. When he came in I think she may have proposed to him afterwords… but I’m sure that wouldn’t be the first time that it happened with him.  They check her again and she is 3-4 cm dilated at about 10:30pm. I head to my bed in the delivery room so that I can get some sleep… something was telling me it was going to be a very early morning.  Although I was unable to sleep making sure that my wife was doing alright even though she was out to the world… sleeping through contractions according to the monitor.

Nov. 8th, 2010 – Midnight – They check her one more time before we call it a night and go to sleep.  This is what stunned us… all along she hadn’t shown any change in her dilation for almost a month and half… and in the matter of an hour and half she went from 3-4 cm to 9cm and its time to call the doctor in.  The room starts to get prepped for delivery and a swarm of nurses come in.  At this point I’m telling myself that this is really happening.  Scary as it was though I was comforted by the fact that this would all be over within a couple of hours.

12:50am – The first push.  It looked so easy but I know that it wasn’t.  I kept expecting her to squeeze my fingers hard while she is pushing but she wasn’t… that’s a good epidural.   This is when I start forgetting things.  I remember helping her doing the counting and holding her legs up in the stir-ups.

2:50am – We need the assistance of the vacuum to help assist in the final stages of pushing.

3:00am – Two contractions and two sets of pushes later the vacuum pops off. I remember looking at the nurses and the doctor for something I can do while I am counting and holding her legs… looking for some sort of assurance also that things are moving along just fine. I then look down at the doctor and what do I see… HE’S CROWNING!   I discussed with my wife early on that I didn’t want to be able to see all of that I wanted to stay up and help her but after that my curiosity got the best of me and I saw the head! What and incredible feeling!


William James Billinger - November 8th, 2010

3:02am – HE’S HERE!  My wife is crying, I’m kissing her and crying myself.  Good thing because the nurses were hoping that I wouldn’t faint. The cord rapped around his neck tightly so the doctor cut it for us.  He is immediately put under the warmer and given oxygen.  He isn’t crying.  After some test under the warmer they need to take him to the nursery so that they can do some more.  I follow him in there.  They discover that he has just alittle bit of fluid in his lungs and that a good cry or scream will get it out.  But at this point its all over and we are in the clear.

It was an early morning but VERY much worth it.  Both William and mother are doing great.  We had a long night our first night but that was expected.  And since I had been operating on only 2 1/2 hours of sleep in the last 36 hours I was out and close to 10 hours of un-interrupted sleep which the nurses reassured my wife was normal for husbands to do that!

We are so thankful for our gift from God.  We were talking it was about a year ago that we weren’t even sure if we were going to be able to have children and were discussing our options.  It’s amazing how he works sometimes.  I remember discussing adoption about week to a month before finding out that we were expecting him.

I can’t even recall how long and incredible this journey was.  Between horrible morning sickness to the downs of the last trimester waiting for him it is something that I know I’ll be looking back at and say that “It’s all worth it.”

William James Billinger
November 8th, 2010
8lbs 8 oz
20 1/2 inches


About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Oh he’s absolutely beautiful! Congrats!

  2. Congratulations! He’s a gorgeous little boy!

  3. That brought tears of happiness to my eyes. So sweet. Glad it wasn’t too hard for your wife.

  4. I’m such a sap…I don’t even know you and your story brings happy tears to my eyes! Congratulations! Little boys are great! Remember to point it down in the diaper! 🙂

    • My wife shot some video of me doing my first ever diaper change and I had the diaper backwards and tried putting it on him… didn’t work so well! HAHA!! Thanks for reading!

  5. I don’t even know you, but I loved your post and had to tell you Congratulations! (Like your wife, I also dilated from 3cm to 9cm very quickly after being given pitocin.) I wish Mom a speedy recovery, but it’s a long and slow process, so I hope she’s patient with herself. Boys are great–I have three! Don’t expect to get much sleep this first trimester of his life, but it’s worth it!

    • She dilated quickly after being given the epidural. I believe she slept like a rock after being given it and of course I couldn’t sleep at all.

      We have been very fortunate so far in that he slept through the night for the first time last night after only being a week old… just like his father!

  1. Pingback: Oh Precious Sleep! « The Rookie Dad

  2. Pingback: The United States of America: Behind on Paid Leave | The Rookie Dad

  3. Pingback: The United States of America: Behind on Paid Parental Leave -

  4. Pingback: What The Future Holds | The Rookie Dad

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

