Week 38 – Come on now!


Now I’m getting pissed off.   But the things I am pissed off about are out of my control and out of my wife’s control.  The doctor doesn’t know either… well she can’t “predict” when the little bugger will make his entrance, but it’s all out of the doctors control.

We had our latest doctors appointment and she has made no progress in 2 weeks.  Ok well maybe she is now one centimeter dilated but her effacement is unchanged.  The doctor said that since she hasn’t changed in a month, yes a month, that there is a good possibility that she could be late now.   I’m doing everything that I can do to hold the cuss words in.  We have gotten everyone all excited that the baby could be early and now it could be another 2 – 3 weeks.  UUUUGGGGHHHHH!!!!  This is another one of those times where there is nothing I can tell my wife or do for her that will make her feel better.  I try but I can’t.  I know that all pregnant hormonal w0men are like it any advice fathers-to-be or fathers out there?  I know that she is uncomfortable, miserable, tired, and I try to do the things that I can but at not fault to her she still can’t get comfortable, or rested.   She even tries and can’t.  It’s frustrating, VERY FRUSTRATING!

We went to go see “Life as We Know it” because ironically life as we know it is about to change and we won’t have this opportunity to go to the movies, and it’s a good movie, but I don’t recommend taking a pregnant hormonal wife to it.  It just made her feelings of guilt worse.   There were parts of the movie that were funny, like when the baby falls out of the baby carrier (that will be me) or when the “dad” goes the change the diaper and he runs… again that will be me.  It is a new concept for a movie and was done very well.  It will send you on a roller coaster of emotions but PLEASE don’t take your wife there if she is pregnant and just received that news that she could be late when all along you were expecting to be early.

To make matters even worse… we both had gone as far as to tell our employers that we were thinking all along it was going to be early and now we have to tell them that more then likely she’ll be right on time or a week late.   Now I know for certain that my employer wasn’t wanting to hear that.   Working in the TV news industry the month of November (the month the little guy is due), along with the months of February, and May (July too but we consider it a throw away month) are the biggest months in the industry.   Now it looks like we will have a November baby and the station will be a man down for two weeks.

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 16, 2010, in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

