Week 37 – The Waiting Game


The baby has hit full term. At this point he would be just fine if he made his entrance today.

The waiting game continues!

From my perspective, I want to get this show on the road. So does my wife as with any woman at this stage in the game.

Every contraction is starting to make me twinge in pain and with every phone call I’m waiting/wanting to hear the “It’s Time.” For my line of work I am sure they are worried about it too. If they send me out on an assignment they never know if I will be coming back or not, or they have to think about whether or not to send me to that assignment because I won’t be able to leave or not. Also at this stage in the game if we leave to go somewhere, even grocery shopping, we pack as if we could be gone for a couple days in the hospital. You never know when something is going to happen

I am lying awake at night just waiting for the water to break or for the contractions to start getting regular. I’ve also learned never jump the gun and tell your parents that the contractions are getting closer and stronger together because then they get all worked up and start hounding you about the progress… and then all of a sudden the contractions die off.

I’ve reached the point where I am ready to be a parent and I am looking forward to having our little guy swinging in the swing or laying on my chest with the both of us sleeping.

Let’s get the show on the road already!

About The Rookie Dad

I am husband and father foremost. Secondly, I am a PBS producer and contribute to Traveling Dads and Dads Round Table.

Posted on October 8, 2010, in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

You've made it this far, so why not leave a comment....

